One Pot Tomato Basil Quinoa with Spinach, Goat Cheese, and Toasted Walnuts

DSCN7202

Tomato Basil Quinoa with Spinach, Goat Cheese, and Toasted Walnuts

Apartment life is coming soon! With it quickly approaching, I’m trying to learn how to make easy, quick meals. This dish came together in less than half an hour, and it only used one pot! Easy make, easy clean. Excellent. I saw a recipe for one-pan farro with tomatoes on Smitten Kitchen, and I decided to adapt it to my own tastes. The one-pan farro only has tomatoes as the veggie, and I wanted a more complete meal with some more colors in it, so I decided to add some spinach. The walnuts and goat cheese are optional, but make for a nice topping, and you don’t need much goat cheese to get the flavor. You could also use feta and olives for a more mediterranean style dish, but I prefer goat cheese and I don’t like olives so I opted not to use them. The beauty of inventing my own recipes is that I get to pick and choose what goes in! I made this dish and some buttermilk biscuits and dinner was served! The great thing about these biscuits is that they’re drop biscuits, so they don’t require any rolling and cutting or any of those time-consuming, mess-making steps. My sister really enjoyed this meal, and I was quite pleased with it myself. Without further ado, here’s the recipe.

Tomato Basil Quinoa with Spinach, Goat Cheese, and Toasted Walnuts

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups water

1 cup quinoa

1 tsp salt

1/2 large white onion, thinly sliced

2 tsp minced garlic, or 2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 ½ cups tomatoes, diced (about 4 medium tomatoes)

A handful of basil leaves, sliced into ribbons (I used about 10 leaves, I could have used more)

Salt and pepper, to taste

1 tbsp olive oil

2 cups baby spinach

½ cup walnuts, toasted

Goat cheese, for serving

Directions

Rinse the quinoa. Place in a pot with the water, salt, onions, garlic, and tomatoes.

Bring the whole mixture to a boil at medium high heat, then cover the pot and lower the heat. Simmer until almost all the liquid has been absorbed. Stir in the basil ribbons, salt, and pepper, and simmer for a couple more minutes.

Add the spinach and olive oil, stir into mixture. Cover the pot and let simmer for 5 more minutes, or until the spinach has wilted.

Place in a serving bowl and top with toasted walnuts and goat cheese. Enjoy!

Print

  DSCN7187

Everything goes in the pot at once! So easy!

DSCN7188

The basil adds a little color.

DSCN7190

But the spinach adds even more!

DSCN7191

Here’s the biscuits I made to accompany this dish.

 DSCN7199

I love buttermilk biscuits. So fluffy and flaky.

DSCN7197

The finished product.

DSCN7201

A complete meal in under 30 minutes!

DSCN7205

One thought on “One Pot Tomato Basil Quinoa with Spinach, Goat Cheese, and Toasted Walnuts

  1. gerrygryle says:

    Wow what mouth-watering ideas you have on here. I’m particularly fond of spinach myself and am always looking for delicious yet healthful ideas. Check out this blog for a spectacular breakfast idea… http://68anda6pack.com/2013/06/25/the-turbocharged-popeye-breakfast/ … Tasty stuff that I now regularly use for my pre-workout meals. Just thought I’d share. :)

Leave a Reply

