French Almond Cookie Cake with Honey Almond Glaze

French Almond Cookie Cake with Honey Almond Glaze

from Averie Cooks

I love almond flavor. Honestly, one of the reasons I’m most impatient to be 21 is the fact that I can’t buy Amaretto liqueur yet. For now, I have to make do with almond extract, and this cookie cake definitely has loads of that! I used about a bottle and a half of almond extract in this recipe, and I probably could have used more to get an even stronger almond flavor.

DSCN7053

The original recipe tops this cake with a cream cheese apricot glaze, but I did not have cream cheese or apricots in the house, so I decided make a honey almond glaze instead. Unfortunately my baking buddy, Shelby, is in New York for the summer, and my glazing skills are not quite on par with hers, but it still turned out looking pretty good!

DSCN7032

If you like bar cookies and almond, then this is the dessert for you. This cookie cake has no leavening agents, so it is extremely dense, moist, and gooey, especially if you slightly underbake it, like I did by accident. The ample amount of almond extract gives it a lovely almond flavor, as well as a delicious fragrance.

Ingredients

Cake:

¾ cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted

2 eggs, room temperature

1 cup white sugar

¼ cup brown sugar (either dark or light is fine, it just affects the color)

2 tbsp almond extract (add more if you want even more almond flavor!)

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

Glaze:

1 ½ cups powdered sugar

2 tbsp milk

1 tsp almond extract

1 tbsp honey

Directions

Cake:

Preheat the oven to 350˚. Grease and flour a 9 inch round cake pan.

Melt the butter in large bowl, let cool for a few minutes.

Add eggs, sugars, almond extract, and vanilla extract, whisk together until completely combined.

Add the flour, stir until just combined, do not overmix.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes, until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean (I baked it for 35 minutes, and it was slightly underdone).

Allow cake to cool in pan for about half an hour, turn it out upside down onto another plate, then flip it back over onto the plate you want to serve it in and let cool completely. While it is cooling, make the glaze.

Glaze:

Combine powdered sugar, milk, almond extract, and honey. Add more powdered sugar or more milk until you reach the desired consistency. Drizzle over the cake.

Enjoy!

Print

  DSCN7043  DSCN7054

4 thoughts on “French Almond Cookie Cake with Honey Almond Glaze

  1. Your honey almond glaze sounds delish – great job improvising with what you had. And I think your cake looks great! I don’t think it looks underbaked – I think that overbaking this cake would be the kiss of death b/c the lack of leavening agents and it would turn all dry and hard! But I love gooey stuff 🙂 Thanks for trying my recipe!

  2. […] French Almond Cookie Cake with Honey Almond Glaze […]

  3. […] had some leftover honey almond glaze from the French Almond Cookie Cake, and I ran out of chocolate ganache, so I drizzled that on top! […]

Leave a Reply

