Quinoa Salad with Sesame Soy Dressing

Quinoa Salad with Sesame Soy Dressing

I discovered quinoa last summer when I started cooking a lot, and I fell in love with it. It’s a wonderful, nutty, healthy grain which is a complete protein, meaning you can get all the essential amino acids from it. Here’s a random fun fact I learned in one of my Life Science classes at UCLA: you can get all the essential amino acids by eating chips and salsa.

Last summer my favorite recipe with quinoa was this one from Two Peas and Their Pod. This summer, I decided to try another of their quinoa recipes, which popped up on my Facebook feed. I modified some of the ingredients according to what I had on hand and what vegetables I did and didn’t like. The original recipe had cabbage and soybeans, which I switched for broccoli and corn, since I didn’t have cabbage and I don’t like soybeans. The original recipe calls for red bell pepper, but we only had green ones in the garden. However, I do prefer red bell pepper, since it is sweeter. I  added a bit of sugar to the dressing, since when I tasted it it was extremely salty. I also left the cilantro out, since no one in my family likes it. After my modifications, the result was a delicious, refreshing quinoa salad, perfect for a summer night meal. My entire family enjoyed this recipe, and my mom got a break from cooking!

Quinoa Salad with Sesame Soy Dressing

adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients

Salad

1 cup quinoa

1 1/2 cups water

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup water

1 cup broccoli, chopped

2 ears of corn, cut off the cob

1 bell pepper, chopped

2 medium carrots, shredded

1 medium cucumber, diced

Dressing

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tbsp rice wine vinegar

2 tbsp chopped green onions

2 tsp sugar (or agave, or honey)

1 tbsp sesame seeds

1/4 tsp grated ginger

1/8 tsp red pepper flakes

salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

Cook the quinoa according to the package instructions, adjusting the amount of water if necessary.

In another saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat, then add the broccoli. Add the water and cover to steam the broccoli for about 3-4 minutes, then add the corn and cover again until all the water has been absorbed, stirring occasionally.

While the quinoa, broccoli, and corn are cooking, combine all the ingredients for the dressing. Place the quinoa in a large bowl and add the broccoli, corn, bell pepper, carrots, and cucumber. Pour 2/3 of the dressing on top, mix it up, and taste. This may be all the dressing you need, depending on your preference. If you want more dressing, pour the rest on. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN6988

These are the vegetables I used, but this would be great with several other variations!

DSCN6991

Mmmm, light and refreshing!

DSCN7007

For dinner, we had the quinoa salad as our main dish. I also baked sweet potatoes and made some zucchini fritters, recipe to come soon!

One thought on “Quinoa Salad with Sesame Soy Dressing

  1. […] my other favorite quinoa salads include my Quinoa Salad with Sweet Potatoes and Swiss Chard, and my Quinoa Salad with Sesame Soy Dressing. I got especially creative with the dressing for quinoa salad. I took a leap of faith and added […]

Leave a Reply

