Homemade Peppermint Patties and Victory for the Eichler Gators Swim Team!

Woohoo!!!!! I first started swimming at the age of ten on a summer league team at the Eichler Swim and Tennis Club, for the Eichler Gators. I swam on the team until I was 18 and ran out of eligibility, but my sister is still on the team. For my last four years on the team, I also helped coach the younger kids on the team, and had an absolute blast watching them improve and compete. Now, even though I haven’t been on the team for two years, I still go to the meets whenever I can to cheer on my sister and the kids I used to coach. Today, Eichler won the Championship meet! In my 11 years in and around Eichler, we’ve won several dual meet championships, but never a Champs meet championship. Needless to say, I was stoked, along with the rest of my team. I love the Eichler community, and hanging around those kids just makes me irrepressibly happy. I love my sister and the team so much. Go Gators!Image

My sister, Joanna, and I at the beautiful Stanford Avery Aquatics Center, at the Champs meet where Eichler won and Joanna set a club record in the 50 yard backstroke!

At the request of my sister, this post will be about the peppermint patties I made a little earlier this summer. She said this was the best dessert I have made all summer, and she ate several of them, which is huge since she has incredible self control and usually limits herself pretty well. I love chocolate mint, since it is sweet and refreshing at the same time, and these peppermint patties are great for a refreshing sweet after dinner.

Homemade Peppermint Patties

adapted from http://candy.about.com/od/fondantcreamfillings/r/peppatties.htm

Patties

3 cups powdered sugar, more as necessary

1.5 tbsp softened butter

2 tsp peppermint extract

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp fat free milk

Chocolate Coating

1 cup chocolate chips

3 tbsp butter

1 candy cane, crushed

Beat together the powdered sugar, butter, extracts, and milk in an electric mixer until a stiff dough forms. Add more powdered sugar to achieve the desired consistency.

Turn out the dough onto a piece of wax paper, roll into a log about 1 1/2 inches in diameter and place in freezer until solid, about 2 hours.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a saucepan, stirring constantly, until smooth and glossy. Remove from heat and let cool.

Remove patties from freezer and slice the log into rounds approximately 1/4 inch thick.

Use forks or dipping tools to dip patties in chocolate, and place the covered patties on a cookie sheet covered in wax paper. (My dough wasn’t quite stiff enough, even when frozen, so they started melting when I dipped them in the warm chocolate, which made it slightly difficult. Make sure to add enough powdered sugar to your dough so it holds its shape during the dipping process.) While the chocolate is still slightly melted, sprinkle the crushed candy cane on top. Place cookie sheet in freezer or refrigerator until the chocolate is hardened. I made about 20 patties, but they were rather large, so depending on the diameter and thickness of your patties, it will make more or less. Store these in the refrigerator or freezer until served. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN6952  DSCN6953

DSCN6958

 DSCN6955

I had some leftover melted chocolate and crushed candy cane, so I made a some quick chocolate “bark.”

DSCN6956

One thought on “Homemade Peppermint Patties and Victory for the Eichler Gators Swim Team!

  1. […] Homemade Peppermint Patties and Victory for the Eichler Gators Swim Team! […]

Leave a Reply

