Snickerdoodle Bars

I made the upgrade to an iPhone today! I’ve grown attached to my not-too-functional Windows Phone, but I guess I dropped it one too many times, and the screen cracked. Sigh. I guess it was about time to get a new phone anyway… This one lasted for three years, which may seem like a long time to some, but I had my Nokia flip phone for 6 years before that. So for me, this is a quick turnaround to a new phone, and I can’t say the transition was terribly smooth. It took me about three hours, lots of Google searches, a few apps, and several different types of email accounts to figure out how to transfer my contacts. Windows and Apple are not compatible, I get it already. Anyway, here they are! Out with the old, in with the new. As my dad says, I’m joining the modern world.

DSCN7082Continuing with the trend of trying something new, here’s a new recipe that I wasn’t sure about but which turned out to be absolutely amazing! Usually I am not a huge fan of cinnamon, and I’ll take a chocolate chip cookie over a snickerdoodle any day, but these Snickerdoodle Bars from Taste and Tell were fantastic. I got my wisdom teeth extracted earlier this summer, but it was the day before my baking buddy left for New York for the rest of the summer, so we decided to bake anyway. My surgery was at 7:45am, so by the early afternoon I was up and about and ready to go. We only changed one thing about this recipe, we doubled the sugar in the cinnamon filling, since it seemed like it wouldn’t make enough. We probably could have stuck with the original amounts, but there’s never any harm in adding extra sugar! One thing we didn’t change, but probably should have, was the amounts for the glaze. As with most glazes, unless you want to coat the entire thing in an inch thick layer of glaze, there was too much glaze. I have adjusted the amounts in this recipe to make a more realistic amount of glaze. These bars turned out super soft and gooey, and so delicious that I probably ate three or four over the course of the afternoon, even though I couldn’t chew that well. If you like cinnamon rolls, snickerdoodles, or anything with sugar and cinnamon, than these are the bars for you! If you’re like me and don’t really like cinnamon, cinnamon rolls, or similar desserts, try this recipe anyway. It’s exquisite.

Snickerdoodle Bars

from Taste and Tell

Ingredients

Bars

2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup butter (1 1/2 sticks), at room temperature

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

Cinnamon Filling

2 tbsp white sugar

1 tbsp cinnamon

Glaze

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 tbsp milk

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat oven to 350˚. Grease a 9×13 baking pan.

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt.

In a large bowl, beat together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Gradually add in the eggs and vanilla extract. Add in the dry ingredients and stir until combined.

Spread half the batter in the prepared pan. Sprinkle the cinnamon sugar mixture evenly over the batter. Drop spoonfuls of the remaining batter over the cinnamon sugar layer.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until golden brown on top. Make the glaze while it cools, and once the bars are completely cooled (or as cool as you can stand to wait for), drizzle the glaze over the bars. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN6365

Shelby did a great job glazing, as usual 🙂

DSCN6366

 DSCN6379

Mmmmm… cinnamon sugar gooey goodness.

DSCN6388

One thought on “Snickerdoodle Bars

Leave a Reply

