Irish Soda Bread Biscuits and a New Camera!

Irish Soda Bread Biscuits

It’s that time… almost the end of my summer. I have one short week left before I leave to go back down to UCLA for work. Thank goodness not for school, which doesn’t start till the end of September. But leaving home, along with leaving my loving family (and free meals!), means leaving my parents’ camera behind, which I’ve been using all summer. Since starting this food blog, I really came to appreciate how that camera, the Nikon S8100, takes much better pictures than my old Olympus Stylus 820. That Olympus has served me well over many, many years, but it’s time for an upgrade. Enter the Nikon P330, which I tried out in the store and loved the close-up, low-light image quality. After extensive research and testing several other cameras, I chose the P330, which I’m SUPER stoked to have and extremely thankful to my wonderful father for partially funding it. Of course, I brought it home and immediately started playing with it, so I took over 100 pictures in about 15 minutes of everything in close proximity to me: my cat, the flowers in the backyard, fruit on the counter, etc. However, I decided I needed to bake something to take pictures of, so I asked my sister what sounded good, and she settled on these Irish Soda Bread Scones from Smitten Kitchen. I’ve been wanting to make biscuits of Irish Soda Bread, so this was the perfect opportunity to do that and try out my new camera at the same time! I’m still figuring out all the settings and adjustments on the camera, but so far I’m very pleased.

Now for the biscuits, since they are more biscuit-y than scone-y. I made these in the toaster oven, so they took a little longer than expected to bake, but They were quite tasty! Crispy on the outside, but dense and soft on the inside, these lightly sweetened biscuits were quite delicious, and I look forward to having them for breakfast for a couple days. I didn’t have cake flour, so I just incorporated cornstarch into the recipe. The recipe says to make 8 scones, but I made 12, and they’re still huge. I would probably make 16 or maybe even 20 scones next time, and just reduce the baking time. Here’s the recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Biscuits

from Smitten Kitchen

4 cups all purpose flour, plus additional for work surface
2 tbsp cornstarch
1/4 cup white sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1 teaspoon table salt (this is 2/3 the original amount, which I found too salty)
5 tablespoons unsalted butter (4 tablespoons softened, 1 tablespoon melted)
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
1 egg
1 cup raisins

Preheat the oven to 400˚ with a rack in the upper middle position.

Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Work the softened butter into the dry ingredients with a fork, pastry blender or your fingertips until the flour mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

In a measuring cup, combine the wet ingredients and raisins. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients until the dough starts to come together. Turn out onto a work surface and knead until the dough just comes together, it should be bumpy. Don’t overwork it or your scones will be tough. Form the dough into a round and divide into 16-20 portions. Place on a greased baking sheet and cut a cross into the top of each scone. Bake for 14-18 minutes, until lightly golden brown. A toothpick inserted should come out clean. Remove from baking sheet and allow to cool slightly, just so you don’t burn yourself. Serve warm. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0084

DSCN0090

Still trying to figure out how to get the lighting to be less yellow…

DSCN0097

Nothing like a fresh pile of biscuits 🙂

DSCN0114

DSCN0116

DSCN0118

Leave a Reply

