Quinoa Salad with Summer Squash, Swiss Chard, and Sweet Potatoes

I love quinoa. It’s like pasta, except healthier. It also absorbs sauces, a bit like rice, so I can add an Asian flair to some quinoa recipes as well. I cooked dinner for my family again, and I decided to make another quinoa dish. This dish is adapted from one I made last summer, Quinoa Salad with Sweet Potatoes, Kale, Dried Cranberries, and Red Onion from Two Peas and Their Pod. My family doesn’t like kale, so I used swiss chard from one of our friend’s gardens instead. I also had a squash from their garden, and several huge zucchinis from our own garden, so I threw those in as well. We didn’t have a red onion, and white onion has a milder flavor anyway, so I used that instead. The dried cranberries in this salad give it a nice touch of sweetness and a bit of chewy texture with every bite. I also crumbled some goat cheese on top for an extra kick of flavor. To round out the meal, I still have buttermilk to use up, so I made whole-wheat buttermilk biscuits (trying to be a little healthier) to accompany this dish. Everything was delicious, and earned the approval of my sister, something that I strive for. Here’s the recipe with my adaptations!

Quinoa Salad with Summer Squash, Swiss Chard, and Sweet Potatoes

adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients

1 cup quinoa

1 ¾ cup water

2 medium sweet potatoes, chopped

½ medium white onion, sliced

1 medium yellow squash, chopped

1 medium zucchini, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper, to taste

3 cups swiss chard leaves, chopped

5 tbsp balsamic vinegar, divided

½ cup dried cranberries

goat cheese, for serving

Directions

Rinse the quinoa and put in a pot with the water. Bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer until all the liquid is absorbed. Set aside to cool.

Preheat the oven to 400˚. Place the sweet potatoes and onion in a baking pan, season with salt and pepper and drizzle with half the olive oil and toss to coat. Bake for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, add the squash and zucchini, drizzle with the rest of the olive oil and toss to coat. Bake for 12 more minutes, or until all the vegetables are tender. Spread the swiss chard on a baking sheet and drizzle with 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. Place in the oven for 7-10 minutes, until the swiss chard is wilted.

Let all vegetables come to room temperature, then combine with the quinoa. Add in the dried cranberries and the rest of the balsamic vinegar, toss to combine. Crumble goat cheese on top and serve. Enjoy!

Print

Shared on Totally Tasty Tuesdays at Mandy’s Recipe Box.

Nice fluffy quinoa.DSCN0162

Here’s all the veggies I used.

DSCN0156

Roast the sweet potatoes and onions first, since they take the longest to soften.DSCN0157

Then add the squash and zucchini.

DSCN0160

Tip: To prevent the swiss chard from sticking to the pan, grease it with spray or olive oil. That’s something I’m going to do next time.

DSCN0161

DSCN0172

Paired with the biscuits, it makes a lovely summer night meal.

DSCN0187

5 thoughts on “Quinoa Salad with Summer Squash, Swiss Chard, and Sweet Potatoes

  1. […] Quinoa Salad with Summer Squash, Swiss Chard, and Sweet Potatoes (dinewithdeja.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] since it’s supposed to be served chilled, or at least room temprature. I made my favorite Quinoa Salad, except I used spinach instead of swiss chard, and I left out the squash, since I like it better […]

  3. […] and I love using it as a base for main dishes. Two of my other favorite quinoa salads include my Quinoa Salad with Sweet Potatoes and Swiss Chard, and my Quinoa Salad with Sesame Soy Dressing. I got especially creative with the dressing for […]

  4. […] 3. Quinoa Salad with Summer Squash, Swiss Chard, and Sweet Potatoes […]

  5. […] this is one of my favorite quinoa salads I’ve made so far, right up there with my all time favorite quinoa salad with swiss chard and roasted sweet potatoes. This makes a great summer meal, and is both delicious and healthy! Here’s the […]

Leave a Reply

