Creative Contest Entry: Zucchini Fritter Cake

Yay for blog giveaways! Ever since I discovered the joys of liking blog pages on Facebook, I’ve been entering various blog giveaways, and I actually won a $100 Visa gift card from a giveaway awarded by Cardstore, so as you can imagine I was stoked about that. I’ve been trying for months to win a KitchenAid stand mixer on one of these giveaways, since the stand mixer I use at home was a wedding gift for my parents, making it 24 years old, so here goes another try.

Several of the blog giveaways leading up to the summer months had a question like “What is your favorite part of summer?” and my answer was always warm summer nights. I love how during the summer, the sun doesn’t go down until about 8:30 or 9, and it stays warm enough to go outside in shorts and a tank top through the late hours of the night. Since my friends and I mostly work during the day, we often hang out at night, so it’s nice to be able to go out and not bundle up with a million layers. However, that was a tangent. My point is, although my favorite thing about summer is the warm summer nights, the fruits and vegetables are a close runner-up. I love summer fruits: peaches, nectarines, plums, apricots, blueberries… You get the point. But I also love the vegetables: bell peppers, tomatoes, green beans, and, most abundant of them all, zucchini! I don’t know about you, but we have zucchini coming out of our ears, and from reading several other blogs, most other people do too. We grow jumbo-sized zucchinis in our backyard, and for some reason my mom keeps accepting zucchinis from other people as well, so we have several giant zucchinis and several normal-sized zucchinis right now. What are we supposed to do with all that zucchini? Well, my favorite Zucchini Bread is a great option, but sometimes you just need to branch out. My mom said she likes zucchini cake the best, so I adapted this Apple Fritter Cake recipe from Cookies and Cups to be a Zucchini Fritter cake. I didn’t want an entire 9×13 pan, so I approximately halved the recipe and baked it in a 9×9 pan. It turned out quite well, and it even halved, it still used up an entire jumbo zucchini! As with other zucchini recipes I have made, the zucchini doesn’t add flavor, just rich moistness. I didn’t feel like this recipe called for an obscene amount of sugar, but even so, after tasting it, the sugar could have been reduced. However, for adapting a recipe from apples to zucchini, I am extremely pleased with the results. This recipe was gooey, rich, sweet, and satisfying, thanks to the addition of all that moist zucchini. My family loved it as well, but they all said it was very sweet. With the glaze on top, the sugar in the cake and in the zucchini layer could be reduced quite a bit, but if you wish to omit the glaze, I would recommend keeping the sugar.

Aside from the taste, there are many delightful things about this recipe. First, I’m making a little dent in our mountain of zucchini. Second, I get to experiment and develop a new recipe, something I love to do. Third, I’m giving myself a chance to win a new stand mixer! Three’s the magic number, right? Anyway, here’s a delicious way for you use up some of those zucchinis I know you have sitting on the counter.

DSCN0165

Zucchini Fritter Cake

Adapted from Cookies and Cups Apple Fritter Cake

Ingredients

Filling

1 ½ cups shredded zucchini

½ cup white sugar (could be reduced to 1/4 cup)

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

2 tbsp cornstarch

½ cup brown sugar (could be reduced to 1/3)

1 tsp cinnamon

Cake

1 cup + 2 tbsp all-purpose flour

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

4 tbsp butter, room temperature

½ cup white sugar (could be reduced to 1/4 cup)

½ cup shredded zucchini

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

1/3 cup plain yogurt

Glaze

1 heaping cup powdered sugar

2-3 tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla

Directions

In a saucepan, combine the zucchini, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cornstarch. Heat over medium heat for about 10 minutes until the mixture is thick and starts to bubble. Set aside to cool.

Mix together the brown sugar and cinnamon and set aside.

Preheat the oven to 350˚ and grease a 9×9 pan.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.

Cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy, then add the egg, vanilla, and zucchini. Beat until combined. Add the dry ingredients and the yogurt to the wet ingredients, alternating dry ingredients and yogurt until it is all incorporated.

Spread half the cake batter in the prepared pan. Pour the zucchini topping over it, spreading evenly. Sprinkle with 2/3 of the brown sugar mixture. Spread the rest of the cake batter evenly over the top. Sprinkle the remaining brown sugar mixture over the top. Bake for 30-35 minutes, until the cake top is set and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

While the cake is baking, make the glaze by combining the powdered sugar, vanilla, and 2 tablespoons of milk. If the glaze is too thick, add milk until the desired consistency is reached.

Immediately after removing the cake from the oven, poke about 25 holes in the top and pour the glaze over the top of the cake, spreading to cover it completely. Let cool for about half an hour before serving.

Enjoy!

Print

Without glaze…

 DSCN0200

…and with glaze!

DSCN0201

Nothing like a crackly glazed top!

DSCN0207

Look at that rich, gooey zucchini layer.

DSCN0210

Disclaimer: I am entering this Zucchini Fritter Cake in the Creative Recipe Contest hosted by Confessions of a Cookbook Queen and Cookies and Cups.

Adapted from Cookies and Cups Apple Fritter Cake

4 thoughts on “Creative Contest Entry: Zucchini Fritter Cake

  1. I bet this is SO good! I love that apple fritter cake and never would have thought to try it with zucchini! Such a fun twist!

  2. I love finding new ways to use zucchini! What a great adaptation! And I LOVE your blog’s subheading. I definitely exercise to eat, too!

  3. Erika Beth says:

    What a great idea to use zucchini. Guess it was easy to think of since you had so much around! Wasn’t this a fun contest to enter?

    • dinewithdeja says:

      Yes! I found this giveaway in the late afternoon/evening right after discovering how many zucchini we had, and I was so excited to do it, I just found a recipe that I could adapt with zucchini and made it after dinner!

Leave a Reply

