Butterscotch Blondies with White Chocolate Chips

From reading this blog you must think I like butterscotch. I mean, I’ve posted these Oatmeal Raisin Butterscotch Cookies, as well as Maple Blondies with Butterscotch Chips. The truth is, I don’t like butterscotch. It’s usually too sweet for me, and I’d take chocolate chips over butterscotch chips any day. However, I had a bag of butterscotch chips to use up, so I decided to give these a try. Shelly over at Cookies and Cups says the same thing: she doesn’t like butterscotch. But she also stated that she loves these blondies, so I decided to give these a try. She’s right. I don’t like butterscotch, but I loved these blondies. They are gooey, sweet, and have a rich, almost caramel-like flavor from the butterscotch. Amazing. This recipe is a keeper.

I did change a couple things about the recipe. Instead of mixing all the wet ingredients together, then adding the melted butterscotch chips, I melted the butterscotch chips with the butter, like you would melt the chocolate for brownie recipes, then added the other ingredients. Additionally, since butterscotch is SO sweet, I reduced the sugar from a whole cup to half a cup. A whole cup definitely would have been way too much. As is, I could even reduce the sugar to a quarter cup, or possibly omit it completely, just because butterscotch chips are so sugary by themselves. The next time I make this recipe, I will try it with just a quarter cup or a couple tablespoons of sugar. Also, I didn’t have any white chocolate chips, but I did have part of the white chocolate bar left, so I chopped it up and threw that in. It wasn’t enough, probably a couple tablespoons, but it was better than nothing. More white chocolate chips also would add sweetness to these blondies, so if I used the full amount, I would probably omit the sugar completely or only use a couple tablespoons. Here is the recipe as I made it, except with white chocolate chips.

Butterscotch Blondies with White Chocolate Chips

adapted from Cookies and Cups

Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

3/4 cup butterscotch chips

1/2 cup loosely packed brown sugar

1 egg

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚ and grease an 8×8 or 9×9 pan (I used an 8×8).

In a saucepan, melt the butter and butterscotch chips over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally until all the chips are melted and the mixture is smooth. Set aside to cool.

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt, and sift together with a fork.

Add the brown sugar, egg, and vanilla to the cooled butterscotch mixture, and stir to combine. Add the dry ingredients and mix together until no streaks of flour remain. Add the white chocolate chips and stir until evenly distributed.

Bake for 18-22 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean, or with a few moist crumbs. Do not overbake. Let cool for about half an hour, then cut into bars.

Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0328

Chewy, gooey, butterscotch heaven.

DSCN0337 DSCN0339

3 thoughts on “Butterscotch Blondies with White Chocolate Chips

  1. shellyjaronsky says:

    So glad you liked these! I need to make them again, it’s been too long! Love hearing that you cut back on the sugar and they were still great.. I’ll try that next time!

  2. […] do love a good Oreo crust. It’s like I don’t like butterscotch chips, but I love these Butterscotch Blondies and these Butterscotch Zucchini Bars. These are a fantastic, indulgent treat, so be prepared for […]

  3. […] Butterscotch Blondies with White Chocolate Chips […]

Leave a Reply

