Blueberry Crumb Muffins

Crumb topping makes any dessert infinitely better. It is also a must for muffins. I used to think muffins were a breakfast food, but now I know better. They’re a dessert. I try not to eat sweets before lunch, since when I do, I tend to feel sluggish. Muffins are no exception, I can’t stomach them before noon. However, these muffins would make a perfect afternoon snack! For those of you who can do sugar at any time of day, go ahead and eat these for breakfast too. I won’t judge you. 🙂

I’ve been looking for a good muffin base for a while, and I’ve concluded that while this base isn’t perfect, the crumb topping is more important anyway, and this crumb topping is just about perfect. It’s crispy, sweet, and buttery, and each muffin is topped with an ample amount. Perhaps the reason the muffins themselves didn’t turn out quite as I’d hoped is because I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, since that’s what I had on hand, but since I never have sour cream, I’m really trying to find a recipe that doesn’t require it. I’ll keep searching I guess. But I doubt I’ll ever stray too far from this crumb topping. The original recipe called for 1 1/2 tablespoons of raw sugar, but I didn’t have that so I used brown sugar instead. As I was making the crumb topping, it looked a little dry, so I added another 1/2 tablespoon of brown sugar, and just that little extra bit made the topping come together in nice, fat crumbs. Perfection!

Blueberry Crumb Muffins

adapted from Cooking Classy

Ingredients

Muffins

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup white sugar

1/2 cup buttermilk

7 tbsp vegetable oil

1 egg

2 tbsp Greek yogurt, or plain yogurt

1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries

Crumb Topping

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tbsp white sugar

2 1/2 tbsp chilled butter, diced

2 tbsp brown sugar

Line 12 muffins with cupcake liners, or grease the muffin tins.

In a small bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a medium bowl, beat together the white sugar, buttermilk, oil, egg, and yogurt until smooth, about a minute. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined but still slightly lumpy. Do not overmix. Divide the batter into the 12 muffin tins. Allow the muffins to rest at room temperature for ten minutes while you preheat the oven to 400˚ and make the crumb topping.

To make the crumb topping, put all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until the mixture resembles course crumbs. If the mixture stays fine and dry, add more brown sugar a 1/2 tablespoon at a time until the crumbs hold together nice and big. Sprinkle 1 heaping tablespoon on each of the muffins. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until the muffin tops are puffed up and golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0351

Here’s the best part, the crumb topping!

DSCN0350

Pile it on those muffins 🙂

DSCN0352

Look at those lovely, crispy, crumb topped muffin tops.

  DSCN0354

DSCN0356

DSCN0365

DSCN0360  DSCN0367

Leave a Reply

