Cream Biscuits

I’ve made a lot of buttermilk biscuits this summer. I’d read somewhere that if you’re going to make biscuits, don’t bother making them if you don’t use buttermilk. But today I had a cup of heavy whipping cream to use up, and I decided, whatever, I’m just going to make cream biscuits and confirm that buttermilk is the way to go.

Well… it isn’t. These are by far the best biscuits I’ve made all summer, and in my memory, ever. They are so fluffy and soft on the inside, with a delicate crisp on the outside, I feel silly for not trying this recipe earlier. Buttermilk may be the way to go for some people, but personally I think I will stick to this recipe from now on.

The original recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream, but I only had 1 cup, so I made 2/3 of a recipe. I used a small drinking glass to cut my biscuits which was about 1 1/2 inches in diameter, so my 2/3 of a recipe made 12 biscuits. A note on that: cups work just fine to cut biscuits. I have lots of cookie cutters in my house in fun shapes like reindeer and stars and cats, but exactly zero of the boring circle variety. Now that I think about it, star-shaped biscuits would be cool… Or cat-shaped biscuits… Next time, Julia, next time. But anyway, like I said, cups work just fine. Maybe they’re not the best for getting those flaky edges people try so hard to get with buttermilk biscuits, but for these biscuits, mine turned out looking the same as the pictures on Smitten Kitchen. One other change I made though, was I baked them for about 20-22 minutes, since I was using a toaster oven, which I suspect doesn’t actually get over about 375˚, since whenever I try to bake something that require a temperature of 400˚ or over, it always takes longer to bake than the recipe calls for. Anyway, Here’s the recipe!

Cream Biscuits

from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

2 tbsp melted butter

2 cups all-purpose flour, plus some for dusting the surface

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp sugar

1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425˚F.

Melt the butter in a bowl or shallow dish and set aside.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar with a fork. Add the heavy whipping cream and stir until the dough comes together. It should be soft and sticky. Turn out the dough on a floured surface and gently form into a mound. Flatten the dough to about 3/4 of an inch thick. Use a cup or round cutter 1 1/2 inch in diameter, or 2 inches in diameter for bigger biscuits, and cut rounds. Dip the top of each round in the melted butter, and place on a baking sheet ( I use nonstick baking sheets, so I didn’t line mine with parchment paper or anything). Bake for 15-20 minutes, until lightly golden brown and puffed up. Serve warm. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0389Mmmmm… Look at that fluffy, soft interior.

DSCN0391Perfectly balanced by the crispy exterior!

DSCN0393There’s nothing better than a mountain of biscuits fresh out of the oven. Except maybe a mountain of cookies 😛

 DSCN0400

DSCN0403

DSCN0398

One thought on “Cream Biscuits

  1. I’ve been focusing on buttermilk biscuits, too, but now I think I should also give cream biscuits a try. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

