My First Apartment Meal! Caprese Sandwich and My Go-To Salad (and a Workout)

I’m all moved into the apartment I’m subletting for the summer! After two full days of driving, moving, unpacking, shopping, more unpacking, and settling in, I’m about as moved in as I’m going to get. Since I’m just subletting for a couple months, I didn’t really unpack EVERYTHING I brought for my own apartment later, just the stuff I’ll need while I’m here. It still took a lot longer than moving into the dorms though. In the dorms you just take for granted that you’ll move all your stuff in, unpack it into the closet, dresser, and desk that are already there, and throw your sheets on the bed. In an apartment, all that changes. Dressers must be acquired, beds have to be bought, delivered, and set up, and all the little things you take for granted in the kitchen, like dishtowels, dishes, detergent, sponges, etc., you have to supply for yourself. That’s not all, there are a million other little things you don’t think of that are necessary for living independently in an apartment, but I’ll spare you all those little details. For now, let’s focus on the important part: the food!

After a long day of shopping and unpacking, I went for a quick workout, and when I got back, I didn’t really want to take the time to make a long and complicated meal. So I settled on one of my favorite classic summer meals: a caprese sandwich and salad. I never use a recipe for this, I just throw it all together with whatever I find in the fridge. When my parents took me shopping this morning before they drove back home, I bought a TON of food, including lots of delicious vegetables! For the salad, I used romaine lettuce, red bell pepper, and avocado, and dressed it with balsamic vinegar. For me, that’s a perfect salad, but if you like fancier salads, you would always add some candied pecans and dried cranberries, or walnuts and goat cheese, and make a nice vinaigrette with olive oil, vinegar, and whatever else you want to put in it. For the caprese sandwich, we bought a basil plant at Trader Joe’s, so I had fresh basil leaves! I cut up some tomato and some slices of fresh mozzarella, slapped those on a toasted bread roll, and drizzled some olive oil and balsamic vinegar over the top. Apartment life is going to be all about using minimal ingredients for multiple meals. Here’s a rough recipe for what I made tonight for dinner.

Salad:

1 cup chopped romaine leaves

1/3 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 avocado, cubed

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Toss all ingredients together and serve! Super easy and quick!

Print

Some of my other favorite ingredients to add:

Candied pecans or walnuts

Almonds

Dried Cranberries

Goat Cheese

Shredded carrots

Fresh corn kernels

Caprese Sandwich:

1 par-baked bread roll (or toasted bread of your choice)

2 slices of fresh mozzarella, each about 2 inches in diameter

1/2 heirloom tomato, sliced

2 basil leaves, chopped

Toast the bread roll. Place the tomato and cheese and basil leaves on bottom half. Drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar on top half. Place the top half on the bottom half and serve warm.

If you want to get fancy, you can put the cheese on one half, the tomatoes and basil on the other half, and drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar on both halves, then toast the whole thing. This makes the cheese all nice and melty and it roasts the tomatoes slightly, making a delicious sandwich even more delicious!

Print

Enjoy!

Delicious fresh salad. I love red bell peppers and avocado.

 DSCN0410

My favorite sandwich is a toasted caprese sandwich.

DSCN0406

So delicious! Look at those lovely basil leaves poking through.

DSCN0412

Update: I’ve started posting my workouts as well, so here is the workout I did before dinner. I did this at Drake Stadium at UCLA, which has 80 steps in the stadiums, and a track. For the stadiums, I snake through the stadiums, doing a pattern going up, and jogging back down.

Warm up: Jog from apartment to the track (about 5 minutes)

1 set of stadiums (6 total times going up)

1 and 2 skipping every other step

3 hitting every stair

4 sideways, facing left (lead with right foot, cross over the front with left foot)

5 sideways, facing right (lead with left foot, cross over the front with right foot)

6 skipping every other step

Run: 2 miles around the track, sprinting the straights, jogging the turns (Total 16 100m sprints)

Dryland:

5 rounds of 5 pushups, 10 situps, 15 squats

5 rounds of 5 dips, 10 jumping lunges, 15 bicycle crunches

Cool down and stretch: Jog one lap (1/4 mile), then stretch

One thought on “My First Apartment Meal! Caprese Sandwich and My Go-To Salad (and a Workout)

  1. Ani D says:

    I loved living in my apartment on campus last year. It is fun to cook for yourself, but it can get lonely scaling everything down to one haha a lot of the recipes on my blog are geared for a single portion if you need some ideas!

Leave a Reply

