Stuffed Zucchini and a Swim Workout

Welcome to my second day of apartment life! Since I don’t start work till tomorrow, I have the entire day to settle in, work out, and cook! This morning I got up and decided to cook dinner, since it’s supposed to be served chilled, or at least room temprature. I made my favorite Quinoa Salad, except I used spinach instead of swiss chard, and I left out the squash, since I like it better without it. I finished making this around 10:45, which was perfect since my favorite pool here opens at 11. I haven’t been in the pool since Friday, which for me is a long time. I like to swim at at least 3 or 4 days a week, preferably 6 or every day if I can.

For the month that I’m subletting this apartment, I’ve decided I’m going to take a hiatus from baking. Partly because It’s hot here and I don’t want to heat up the kitchen every day, but also because I want to get back in shape before the school year starts and I find myself too busy to work out. Hopefully that doesn’t happen, but if it does, I want to be in peak fitness before it all goes down the drain. Makes sense, right? Anyway, as part of that, I’m going to start posting my swim workouts, and maybe my lifting/dryland workouts as well. Here’s what I swam today. For reference, this is in a 25 yard pool, and my intervals are based off the fact that I can do 10 100s free on the 1:25 with about 5-8 seconds of rest. If you’re a swimmer and would like to use these sets, adjust the intervals according to your own speed.

Warm up: 200 SKIP (swim, kick, IM, pull)

Warm up set: 4×100 first 75 rotating IM, last 25 kick of the last stroke of the 75, @2:00

1) fly, back, breast, breastroke kick by 25

2) back, breast, free, flutter kick

3) breast, free, fly, dolphin kick

4) free, fly, back, flutter kick

Main set: 4 rounds of the following

200 IM @3:30

4×50, 3 kick/swim by 25 @:50, 1 easy free @1:00

Pull set: 2 rounds of the following

300, breathing between the 15m markers @4:30

200, negative split (the second half should be faster than the first, so I do 1st 100 moderate, 2nd 100 fast) @2:50

100 fast pull @1:20

Warm down: 200 choice easy

Total: 4200 yards

Time it took me: 1 hr 20 min

Now for the food! After that swim, I was nice and refreshed (and a couple shades darker) and I came back to the apartment and decided to make stuffed zucchini. I’m used to cooking for my family at home, so I usually make portions big enough for four people plus leftovers. It’s going to be an adjustment cooking for just one. Either that or my roommates are going to get a lot of free food. However, stuffed zucchini is super easy to adjust for one person or more. I ate both halves for lunch and this was my main dish, but it could also be made as a side dish. Sadly, moving away from home means losing access to our lovely garden, which is bursting with zucchini, so I had to *gasp* buy zucchini, but if you’re lucky and have tons of zucchini in your garden like I did at home, this is a great summer dish to use it up. It looks relatively fancy, but it’s super easy to make, and can be adjusted to your tastes!

Stuffed Zucchini for One

DSCN0414

I love this Beef-less ground beef from Trader Joe’s!

Ingredients

1 zucchini

1 slice (about 1/4 inch thick) of a large white onion, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

3 tbsp cup ground veggie beef

1 tbsp olive oil

Parmesan cheese for sprinkling on top

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400˚F.

Cut the zucchini in half, lengthwise. Scoop out the insides with a spoon, leaving the rind about 1/4-1/2 inch thick, and leaving the ends intact, making a boat. Roughly chop up the insides.

Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and let it cook, stirring occasionally, for a few minutes, until it starts to turn transparent. Add in the peppers, zucchini insides, and ground veggie beef and cook for a few minutes, until the peppers and zucchini begin to soften and the veggie beef is nicely browned. Divide the mixture evenly between the two zucchini halves, and sprinkle parmesan cheese on top. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the zucchini is easily pierced by a fork. Enjoy!

Print

Before baking…

DSCN0413

…after baking!

DSCN0416

The parmesan cheese gives it a little extra touch of flavor.

DSCN0423

DSCN0420

Yum!

DSCN0418 DSCN0419

One thought on “Stuffed Zucchini and a Swim Workout

  1. […] I made something similar on my last day at home with a friend, the same day we made those delicious Stuffed Zucchini, and it was delicious, so I did something similar with the ingredients I had. We used red wine for […]

Leave a Reply

