Veggie Beef Fried Rice and My First Perimeter Run

So far I’ve tried to post once a day since starting this blog, and I’ve only missed one day, that day I drove down to UCLA and moved into my apartment. I’m making up for it now with a double post! Since I had so much leftover rice from the rice cooker fiasco last night, I decided to make fried rice for dinner tonight! Called 炒饭 (chao fan) in Chinese, it is a classic Chinese comfort food, and, like the dish last night, super easy to make! Fried rice uses leftover rice, preferably a day old, because it’ll be a little dried out, which is exactly what you want. It’s easier to mix the ingredients evenly throughout the rice when it doesn’t stick together like fresh rice.

Just before making dinner, I ran the perimeter for the first time today! It’s a 3.9 mile loop that goes around the perimeter of the UCLA campus, and it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while. It’s quite a good run, and there are only a couple stoplights that you have to deal with, and the way I did it, they were almost all in the beginning so after the first few minutes I only had to stop once or twice more. There are also lots of uphills and downhills. I hate the downhills, since it’s rough on my knees, but the uphills are a nice challenge, and the change in incline makes the run more interesting. After coming back, I was pretty hungry, so it was great how quickly this meal came together! From start to finish, the whole thing took less than ten minutes. That’s my kind of dinner!

Veggie Beef Fried Rice

Ingredients

4 green onions, chopped

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

1 14oz bag of frozen mixed vegetables (green beans, peas, corn, and carrots)

1/2 cup veggie ground beef (I use Trader Joe’s)

4 eggs

5-6 cups leftover rice (I used jasmine brown)

Oyster sauce, to taste

Soy sauce, to taste

Salt, to taste

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a wok over medium-high heat. Toss in the green onions and garlic and saute until the garlic is lightly browned. Add in the frozen vegetables and veggie beef, and cook until heated through, a couple of minutes. Lower the heat to medium, and add the leftover rice, incorporating the vegetables and veggie beef into the rice, and heating the rice through.

After a couple of minutes, make a well in the middle of the rice. Beat the eggs together and pour into the hole. Allow them to cook for a few seconds, then scramble them until mostly cooked. When they are mostly cooked but still a little runny, start mixing the eggs throughout the entire rice mixture. Add the sauces and salt, and toss until the flavors are evenly distributed. That’s it! Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0437

All the ingredients

DSCN0438

The veggie ground beef is pre-cooked, so just throw in in with the vegetables. If you use real meat, you have to cook it separately first, then throw it in with the vegetables and rice later.

DSCN0440

DSCN0443

DSCN0441


This is what the eggs look like when you just put them in. I had to scramble to take this picture before the eggs cooked all the way through. Don’t let that happen, because then you just have a fried egg!

DSCN0444

Three happy housemates, once again sharing a meal!

DSCN0452

The finished product 🙂

One thought on “Veggie Beef Fried Rice and My First Perimeter Run

  1. Jean Hsia says:

    If you have veggie beef in the recipe, you can actually skip the egg and then you’ve got a vegan dish! The veggie beef provides the protein.

Leave a Reply

