Summer Succotash

I covered my first practice today! I am a student intern for the UCLA Sports Medicine Internship Program, which means that I am paired with one of our NCAA teams and an athletic trainer. I cover practice, help out with rehab, and assist my athletic trainer with anything else she or the athletes need. As someone who is planning to be a physical therapist, this internship is perfect for my career path. My team for this year is Women’s Volleyball, which I’m super stoked about. They’re a great group of girls, and I’m so excited to work with them this year. Today, I worked for a total of nine hours, with a two hour break in the middle, during which I went for a run and did some stadiums. Needless to say, my feet are a little tired. Good thing this succotash is a breeze to throw together! It came together in less than fifteen minutes, so before long I could put my feet up and relax.

Succotash is a great summer meal, since it is mostly raw veggies, and can be made completely raw if you don’t mind raw zucchini and tomatoes. I used lemon juice in this succotash, since that’s what I had on hand, but you can also spice up the flavor by using salsa instead. This specific recipe is made with my personal favorite vegetables, but succotash is infinitely adaptable. Some options would be to use regular onions instead of green onions, use different kinds of beans, like kidney or garbanzo beans, and add different spices to change the flavoring. Another fantastic thing about this dish is that it can be made in a pinch with ingredients you keep in your pantry. It can be made with canned beans, canned corn, canned tomatoes, pretty much any canned vegetable, and some salsa from a jar, salt, and pepper. So easy! This can be eaten as a main dish with some toasted bread or salad lettuce, or it can be served as a side along with perhaps a meat dish or pasta.

Summer Succotash

Ingredients

1 medium zucchini, diced

2 tomatoes, diced

1 tbsp olive oil

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 avocado, diced

15 oz can of black beans, drained

15 oz can of corn, drained (or 3-4 ears of fresh corn kernels, removed from the cob)

1 green onion, chopped

Juice of one lemon

Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

In a medium saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Toss in the tomato and zucchini, and cook until the zucchini is soft. Set aside to cool. Note: I don’t like raw tomatoes or raw zucchini. If you do, then feel free to toss them in without cooking them. Then you don’t need to turn on the stove at all for this entire meal!

In a large bowl, toss together the bell pepper, avocado, black beans, corn, and green onion. Add in the tomato and zucchini. Add the lemon juice and salt and pepper and toss to combine. Serve over salad lettuce or plain. Enjoy!

Print

One thought on “Summer Succotash

  1. […] and easy, and came together in about half an hour. I had this for dinner, along with some of my Summer Succotash over some romaine […]

Leave a Reply

