Spaghetti with Tomato Veggie-Beef Sauce and Fresh Mozzarella and a Swim Workout

I need to go grocery shopping. I’m almost out of milk. 😦 Clearly that is going to be the determining factor of when I need to go grocery shopping, since I’m doing fine on food, but I’m having to carefully ration out my milk. Oh well, at least I still have plenty of food left!

Today, I swam again during my work break, but I only had a little over an hour, and with walking to and from the pool and grabbing a quick meal afterwards, that only left me with about 40 minutes to swim. I also had to swim long course today, which I hate, since that was the only pool open. Here’s the workout I did.

Warm up: 200 free, 200 non-free, 100 free

Main set: 6×200 (200 free sprint first 15m off each wall @3:30, 200 IM @4:00, 200 reverse IM @4:00)x2

Warm down: 200 easy choice

Total: 1900m

Time: Just under 40 min

Now onto dinner! I had a couple tomatoes, the rest of the veggie ground beef, and some fresh mozzarella to use up, fresh basil on the balcony, and part of an onion, so I decided to make a nice pasta dish. I made something similar on my last day at home with a friend, the same day we made those delicious Stuffed Zucchini, and it was delicious, so I did something similar with the ingredients I had. We used red wine for our sauce that day, but I only have white in the cabinet, so that’s what I used. This is a very basic pasta sauce recipe, and can be altered in many ways. I didn’t have any herbs or spices other than basil, salt, and pepper, but you could definitely add some oregano, thyme, or any other spices you wish. This pasta dish is pretty quick and easy, and came together in about half an hour. I had this for dinner, along with some of my Summer Succotash over some romaine leaves.

Spaghetti with Tomato Veggie-Beef Sauce and Fresh Mozzarella

Makes 3-4 servings

Ingredients

8 oz thin spaghetti, or pasta of your choice

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic

¼ yellow onion, diced

2 tomatoes, cut into wedges

¼ cup Marsala wine (or red wine)

½ cup ground veggie beef

A handful of fresh basil leaves

4 oz fresh mozzarella, cubed

Parmesan cheese, for sprinkling

Directions

Cook the spaghetti according to package directions. Tip: Throw in a dash of olive oil to prevent the noodles from sticking together.

In a saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Cook the garlic and onion until lightly browned and the onions begin to turn transparent. Add in the sliced tomatoes and cook for a few minutes until the tomatoes begin to soften. Add the wine and bring to a simmer. If you don’t like the taste of wine, let it simmer for a while in order to cook it all out (this is what I did). If you wish, you can omit the wine completely, but it adds a little something special to the sauce. As the sauce is simmering, add in the veggie beef and allow it to heat through. At the very end, toss in the basil leaves and turn off the stove. Stir the sauce, allowing the basil leaves to wilt and release their flavor. Drop a few mozzarella cubes over the pasta and spoon the sauce on top. Sprinkle some parmesan cheese on top. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0474

The parmesan adds a nice finish touch to this simple dish, but it still looks (and tastes) great without it!

DSCN0487

Grab a fork and dig in!

Leave a Reply

