Chocolate Chip Crisp Cookies

I tried to go swimming today, but both pools I tried to go to were closed. I was not pleased, especially since I had just finished grocery shopping, which involved walking up a huge hill carrying three bags of groceries and a gallon of milk. It was a hot day, I was sweaty, and all I wanted to do was cool off with a nice swim. But it was not to be, so I consoled myself by baking. I know, I was taking a hiatus from baking but I decided to end it in order to do something nice for my housemates, as well as attract some of my friends over for some hang out time. Yes, I attract my friends with food. It worked! Two of my ultimate frisbee teammates came over after dinner to have dessert!

DSCN0522I ended up making these chocolate chip crisp cookies, as well as Double Chocolate Chip Brown Sugar Blondies, a recipe I will save for another day. Why chocolate chip crisp cookies? Well, as it turns out, my roommate volunteered at a camp this weekend, and they were giving out lots of food at the end, so she came home with a massive bag of crisp rice cereal. I mean massive. Take a look at the size of this thing.

DSCN0490

Needless to say, we have no shortage of crisp rice cereal in the apartment at the moment. The two cups used in this recipe hardly make a dent in this enormous bag. I adapted my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe to make these cookies, and it was an excellent decision. I approximately halved the recipe, reduced the flour slightly, and added plenty of crisp rice cereal. One interesting thing to note about these cookies, however, is that when they are left slightly underbaked, the cereal adds less of a crisp to these cookies. This is one of the few recipes I’ve ever made where underbaking is not the best way to go, another being French Macarons. In order to get the full crispy crunch in these cookies, bake them until they are decidedly golden brown all the way through. These cookies were a big hit in the apartment! Everyone who tried one had more than one, always a good sign, and there were plenty to go around! The original recipe makes about six dozen cookies, and this would have made probably over four dozen cookies, had I not “tasted the dough” extensively. Which, by the way, was delicious.

Chocolate Chip Crisp Cookies

Makes about 4 dozen cookies

Ingredients

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups crisp rice cereal

1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, and crisp rice cereal. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until smooth. Add in the egg and vanilla and beat until fluffy. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Dump in the chocolate chips and stir until the chips are evenly distributed throughout the batter.

DSCN0493

I love this cookie scoop. It makes cookies so easy!

Using a cookie scooper, (I love my Oxo good grips cookie scoop, one of my favorite baking tools), drop two-teaspoon sized balls of dough on a cookie sheet. Bake for 9-10 minutes, until golden brown. Let cool on the pan for a minute or so before removing to cool completely. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0507

These delightful cookies are both chewy and crispy! Luckily I used the small cookie scoop, so I don’t feel too bad about eating two of them… Or six…

DSCN0501

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Crisp Cookies

  1. […] another one. It has proven to be an extremely useful ingredient in all sorts of desserts, like my Chocolate Chip Crisp Cookies and my Peanut Butter Granola Bars. The crispy little nuggets add a whole new dimension to […]

Leave a Reply

