Moo Shu Chicken Wraps and a Swim Workout

I had another friend over for dinner today! I’m loving apartment life! It’s making me a very social person, since I love to cook and I enjoy people coming over to eat with me. I know all this will change once school starts and I get too busy to do anything except work and study, but I’m enjoying my extra free time while I can. The friend who came over today is an ultimate frisbee teammate who is from China, so I decided to make a Chinese dish. My mom makes this at home and it’s one of those dishes that she doesn’t make often, but every time she does I remember how delicious it is. So I tried looking up a few recipes online, but I ended up just making up my own based roughly on guidelines from my mom.

According to Chinese pinyin, the American spelling for this should actually be Mu Shu, not Moo Shu, but when I searched recipes that’s what came up, so I guess I’ll just go with that for this recipe. Regardless of the name, my friend and I enjoyed it! We both went back for seconds, which is the ultimate sign of a good meal. We also bonded over the fact that neither of us measures anything precisely when we cook. I just use a normal spoon and approximate, and often I just pour things in, to reduce the amount of things I have to wash. My friend said that she doesn’t even bother with the spoon, she just pours things in, for that exact reason! The easier the cleanup, the better. Anyway, here’s the recipe with the approximate measurements I used.

Mu Shu Chicken Wraps

Ingredients

6 free range chicken thighs (you could also use breasts), cut into ¼ inch thick strips

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp white wine

1 tbsp sesame oil

2 tsp minced garlic

1/2  tsp ginger powder

1 tsp brown sugar

1 tsp olive oil

4 green onions, sliced

8 carrots, thinly sliced or shredded (about 8 carrots)

1 8 oz package shredded cabbage

1/3-1/2 cup chicken broth

2 tbsp soy sauce

1/4 cup hoisin sauce

6 flour tortillas, the thinner the better

Directions

Combine the soy sauce, white wine, sesame oil, garlic, ginger powder, and sugar and pour over the chicken. Let marinate in the refrigerator for 10 minutes.

While the chicken is marinating, heat the olive oil in a large saucepan with a lid over medium heat. Add the green onions and cook for a minute, then add the carrots. Add about ¼ cup of the chicken broth and cover until the liquid has been absorbed to soften the carrots. Add in the cabbage and add the rest of the chicken broth. Cover until most of the liquid has been absorbed, add more if you want softer vegetables. Add the soy sauce and stir to combine.

As you are cooking the vegetables, cook the chicken with the marinade in a large wok, heat over medium-high heat until the chicken is cooked through. Add the vegetables to the chicken, stirring to combine. Remove the mixture and place in a large heatproof bowl.

Heat the hoisin sauce in the wok for a minute or so, just to cook it a little. Remove and place in a small dish.

Microwave the tortillas for about 30 seconds to heat and soften them.

To assemble: Spread a spoonful of hoisin sauce on a tortilla and fill with chicken and vegetable mix. Wrap like a burrito. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0663

Cooking everything at once! I’m learning to multitask

DSCN0666

Ready to assemble!

DSCN0668

First, spread some hoisin sauce on the wrap

DSCN0671

Second, fill with the chicken vegetable mixture. Don’t fill it too full or you won’t be able to close it.

DSCN0672

Third, wrap it up like a burrito! If you put too much filling, do what I did and eat it until it’s the right amount so you can wrap it up nicely

DSCN0673

It’s the Chinese version of a burrito, although in my opinion much tastier.

DSCN0676

Mmmm… Inevitably some of the juices will escape, but it only adds to the delicious juiciness of the wrap!

Now, as the tagline of this blog says, I exercise to eat. It’s no joke when I say that, I really do exercise to eat. I went for a swim this morning after I got off work, and then lifted this afternoon before dinner in preparation for what I knew would be a delicious meal. As usual, my lifting workout was sort of random, but mostly legs and back, based on what equipment was available in the gym. However, my swim was well planned out, so here’s my second installment of Old School Tuesday!

200 free, 100 back, 100 breast, 200 free

7×100 @1:30

1) 25 fly, 75 free

2) 50 fly, 50 free

3) 75 fly, 25 free

4) 100 fly

5) 25 free, 75 fly

6) 50 free, 50 fly

7) 75 free, 5 fly

Main set:

100 free @1:30, odd laps sprint first 15m

200 free @3:00, 25 sprint, 75 easy

300 free @4:30, 50 sprint, 50 easy

400 free @6:00, 75 sprint, 25 easy

500 free for time

150 easy choice

12×25 @:30 no breaths

50 easy

Total: 3300 yards

Time: 55 min

Leave a Reply

