Peanut Butter Granola Bars, a Swim Workout, and a Sprint Workout

Happy Wednesday everyone! I got the day off work today, so I am free for the whole day! Since I’ve been waking up so early for work, I woke up naturally around 7 am today. Woohoo. However, that meant I had quite a bit of time before the pool opened, so I decided to bake, something I was planning to do after lunch. I’ve been trying out granola bar recipes for the last month or so, since I want to be able to make my own, rather than buying them at the store. That means I choose what goes into them, which not only makes them healthier, but also means that I can put only things I like into my bars. It’s a double win! Previously, the bars I’ve tried were too crumbly and didn’t hold together. These bars aren’t as stiff and chewy as store-bought ones, but they hold together and they are quite tasty! These also happen to be vegan, since I decided to use a flax egg instead of a normal egg. That huge bag of crisp rice cereal is still sitting in the cabinet in all its glory, but we’re making headway! I dipped into it again for this recipe to add a nice crisp to the bars.

After looking at a bunch of recipes, I decided to just wing it and use my own knowledge to make my own. Other bars I’ve made without egg seem to crumble apart, as do bars that I haven’t baked, so I decided to use a flax egg and bake these bars to give them structure. The baking also prevents the crisp rice cereal from getting soggy and losing its crisp. I only have old-fashioned rolled oats, not the quick cooking kind, but my guess is that this recipe would work just as well or possibly better with the quick cooking kind. I boiled together the honey and brown sugar to make more a syrup, and along peanut butter and the flax egg, it acts as a binder for these bars. Overall, my extensive research of granola bar recipes as well as some trial and error resulted in a great bar that is sweet and salty. It makes a perfect afternoon snack, but it’s also delicious enough to have as a dessert!

Peanut Butter Granola Bars

Makes 18 bars

Ingredients

1 tbsp flax meal

3 tbsp warm water

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1 cup crisp rice cereal

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup total mix-ins (I used almonds, walnuts, and raisins)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup honey

1/3 cup peanut butter

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325˚F and grease a 9×9 pan or line with aluminum foil.

Pour the warm water over the flax meal in a small bowl. Allow to sit while you prepare the other ingredients, until it becomes a gel-like consistency. This is the flax egg.

Mix together the oats, cereal, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and mix-ins in a large bowl.

In a small saucepan, bring the brown sugar and honey to a boil over low heat. Remove from heat after it has boiled for about 30 seconds and stir in the peanut butter. Add the flax egg and stir, then pour the whole mixture over the dry ingredients. Stir to coat everything in the wet mixture. Press firmly into the prepared pan and bake for 20 minutes, until lightly golden on the top. Let cool completely before cutting into bars. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0689

Sweet and salty, crispy and chewy. These bars are full of flavor and texture!

Now onto the workout portion of today. It’s a beautiful day out, so getting in the pool was nice and refreshing. Since I’m doing the sprint workout later today with some of my ultimate teammates, I decided to not burn myself out in the pool this morning. In keeping with my high school themes, I did a version of Quality Kick Set Wednesday. It was more like a pull/kick set, but I got the kick in there! I also added some IM just for variety.

Quality Pull/Kick Set Wednesday

200 free

200 pull

4×50 @1:00 kick/swim, IM order

4×50 @1:00 drill/swim, IM order

Pull/Kick Set: 4 rounds of 500 yards, split up as follows

1) 400 pull @5:20, 2×50 sprint kick @:55

2) 300 pull @4:00, 4×50 sprint kick @:55

3) 200 pull @2:40, 6×50 sprint kick @:55

4) 100 pull @1:20, 8×50 sprint kick @:55

IM Set: 2x(100 easy, 2×100 IM, 2×100 reverse IM)

First round easy @2:00, IM and rev. IM @1:40

Second round easy @2:00, IM and rev. IM @1:35 or 1:30

200 pull, breathe 3-5-7-9 by 50

Total: 4000 yards

Time: 1 hr

Now for the sprint workout. I haven’t played ultimate since spring quarter, and while I have been running, I’ve been doing pretty much all distance running, no sprints. So when my teammate asked if I wanted to do a track workout, it is with some apprehension that I agreed. Here’s the plan for tonight:

Warm up job and dynamic warmup: Whatever you need to do to get ready to sprint

6 X 200m sprint

6 X 100m sprint

6 X 10-20-10 yards and 5-10-5 yards shuttles aka suicides

6 X 50m sprint

Equal Recovery for everything

Cool down jog and stretch

Recap: Here’s what we actually did:

Warmup jog, dynamic warmup

3x(2×200 sprint, 75 sec rest, 2×100 sprint, 60 sec rest, 2×50 sprint, 45 sec rest) 3 min rest between rounds

4x shuttles 10-20-10

4x shuttles 5-10-5

Lesson of the day: I am very slow at sprinting. I haven’t sprinted on land since May, when our ultimate season ended, and I’m regretting that. But it was a great workout, and I got to spend some time with my teammates!

5 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Granola Bars, a Swim Workout, and a Sprint Workout

  1. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content available for you?

    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

    • dinewithdeja says:

      Thanks for the feedback! At this point, I don’t have guest writers because I’m new to the whole blog thing, so I’m not blog-savvy enough to know how to do that. If you have things to add, feel free to keep commenting!

  2. […] since it’s so hot and I don’t want to turn on the oven. I’ve already made some Granola Bars, which turned out amazing, and I’ve seen lots of raw cookie ball recipes from some of my […]

  3. […] extremely useful ingredient in all sorts of desserts, like my Chocolate Chip Crisp Cookies and my Peanut Butter Granola Bars. The crispy little nuggets add a whole new dimension to desserts and bars. These crisp rice bars […]

  4. […] but her kids are allergic to wheat, nuts, dairy, and about a million other things. I love these Peanut Butter Granola Bars, but the peanut butter in these was a no-go, so I adapted them to be pumpkin flavored and nut-free! […]

Leave a Reply

