Snickerdoodles

Usually when I find a cookie recipe that requires chilling I close the browser window and look for something else that will provide me with instant gratification. I’m not a very patient person, especially when it comes to getting sugar in my system. However, a couple nights ago, I had some time on my hands, so I was looking for a cookie recipe that I could make and refrigerate overnight, and serve them as dessert for the dinner gathering I had last night. I haven’t made snickerdoodles in a very long time, so I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot. It seemed like a rather small batch, so I doubled it. I mostly followed the original recipe, except I reduced the brown sugar in the dough, but increased the cinnamon sugar topping and completely coated my cookie dough balls with it. It ended up making 82 small cookies, and that’s after I ate some (ok, a lot) of the dough. After baking these cookies and seeing how many cookies it made, I thought that maybe doubling the batch was unnecessary. I was wrong. These little balls of cinnamon-sugar goodness were soft, chewy, and perfectly sweetened. I left a plateful of cookies out for my housemates, and put about four dozen on a large plate for the dinner party. Between the seven of us, we ate the entire plate. Let me repeat: there were zero cookies left on the plate at the end of the night. I’d say that speaks well for these cookies, don’t you think? You don’t have to take my word for it, though. Here’s the recipe so you can try them out for yourself!

Snickerdoodles

Adapted from Lovin in the Oven

Makes 7 dozen small cookies

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour

½ tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

½ cream of tartar

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

½ cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

¼ cup white sugar

1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions

Sift together the flour, salt, baking soda, and cream of tartar. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until smooth. I do this by hand, but you can use a mixer. Cream in the eggs and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add in the dry ingredients and stir until all the batter is combined. Refrigerate for 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat the oven to 325˚F. Combine the white sugar and cinnamon in a shallow dish. Scoop out 2 teaspoon portions of dough and form into balls. Roll the balls in the cinnamon sugar mixture and place on cookie sheets. Bake for 9-11 minutes, until the centers still look slightly underdone. They will firm up as they cool, while remaining chewy in the middle. If you prefer puffier cookies, bake for 12-13 minutes, but I prefer them a little underdone so they remain soft and chewy. After cooling on the pans for a couple minutes, remove from the pans and transfer to racks to cool completely. Enjoy!

Print

 

DSCN0715

This batch made a LOT of cookies. This mountain here isn’t even all of them.

DSCN0722

So much cinnamon-sugar goodness 🙂

DSCN0731

Those soft, wrinkly tops are a sign of perfectly chewy cookies.

DSCN0735

Hello there sugar!

DSCN0757

Cookie craziness!

Leave a Reply

