Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites, a Sprint Workout, and a Circuit Lifting Workout

Today I worked my first women’s volleyball game! It was the alumni game, so it was a good chance to practice setting up and covering a game. Game day for me meant that I had gone to work, gone for a run, come back to my apartment, showered, and eaten, all by 9:30 am. Then I went back to work and went on with the rest of my day. Now that’s what I call productive! Now I’m not saying I enjoy getting up before the sun, but there is something to be said for early morning work shifts: they get me up and moving early, then I have lots of extra time in the afternoon and evening to do all sorts of fun things, like make food!

My athletic trainer had a homemade larabar at work today, and she let me try a bit, and it was so good that it inspired me to go on a no-baking frenzy tonight. I’ve decided to try to make some healthier snack and dessert alternatives, and some no-bake options, since it’s so hot and I don’t want to turn on the oven. I’ve already made some Granola Bars, which turned out amazing, and I’ve seen lots of raw cookie ball recipes from some of my favorite blogs, so I decided to give one a try. They always call for raw nuts and medjool dates, things I don’t keep in stock and have never baked with, so I adjusted the recipe to use what I had. This recipe from Averie Cooks didn’t require dates, but it did ask for raw cashews. I only have roasted and salted cashews, so I used those instead, but I didn’t have a lot, so I added some walnuts into the mix, and they tasted fine to me! To offset the salt in the cashews, I added an extra tablespoon of agave nectar, and they were perfectly sweetened. I could probably go down to just 3 tablespoons of agave, since the dough was a little bit soft. I’m sure freezing will save this problem but I couldn’t help myself and I ate a little bit before chilling them. I also ate some after chilling, and they tasted delicious both ways!

These cookie dough balls are healthier than normal unbaked cookie dough, not to mention lack any risk of salmonella from raw eggs. They’re actually vegan! Even better, these cookie dough balls are made entirely in the food processor, which means no extra bowls to clean. Huge bonus! I was a little unsure of how these would turn out, but I had to force myself to put them in a closed container in the freezer to stop myself from eating them, they were that good. Here’s the recipe:

Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites

Adapted from Averie Cooks

Ingredients

½ cup roasted and salted cashews, or unsalted, or raw

¼ cup walnut pieces

1/3 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

¼ cup agave nectar (could reduce to 3 tbsp)

1 tsp vanilla extract

¼ cup chocolate chips

Directions

Put the cashews, walnuts and oats in a food processor and blend into a fine powder. Don’t overblend or you will have nut butter. Add the agave and vanilla and pulse to combine. Add the chocolate chips and pulse to distribute them. Roll the dough into balls and freeze for half an hour for them to firm up. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0760

You CAN eat raw cookie dough!

DSCN0763

It doesn’t look like normal cookie dough, but it tastes just as good!

DSCN0767

It took a lot of willpower to only eat half this cookie dough ball, and after I got the shot I promptly popped the rest of it in my mouth 🙂

Now onto the running and lifting part of today! I don’t usually do double dryland days, to avoid pounding my knees too much, but I didn’t have the chance to get to the pool today, so I made an exception. I decided to do a sprint workout, since after Wednesday’s track workout I realized how out of shape for sprinting I am. Here’s my attempt to try to rectify the situation.

Warm up jog, dynamic stretches and movement prep

1 set of stadiums (1 ever step, 1 every other step, 1 facing left, 1 facing right, 1 every other step, 1 every step, 1 every other step)

Sprint Part 1: Set cones 50m apart

100m sprint (there and back), 45 sec rest

200m sprint (there and back twice), 60 sec rest

300m sprint (there and back three times), 75 sec rest

200m sprint, 60 sec rest

100m sprint, 45 sec rest

Sprint Part 2: Set cones 40m apart

4x120m sprint (3 lengths of the 40m), 1 min rest after each

Cool down jog and stretch

Total time: Approx. 45 minutes

I did this run after doing pre-game treatments in the morning, then in the afternoon after the game was done and everything was cleaned up, I hit the gym. I did a little bit of everything today, but nothing too heavy, lots of little circuits. Here’s what I did.

5 min cardio warmup, dynamic stretching

[10x pushup-row-lunge combo with 12.5 lbs in each hand(pushup, row left, pushup, row right, pushup, stand up, curl, press, lunge left, lunge right, reverse curl and press), 50 jumping jacks, 15 fast feet step ups onto a 12inch block leading with left foot, 15 leading with right foot]x2

3x(12 back squats with 95lbs, 10 lunges on each leg with 65 lbs, 15 RDLs with 65 lbs)

8×1 min Bear Complex (power clean, front squat, push press, back squat, push press, touch bar to ground), 1 min rest between each

Arm:

2x(16 2-angle bent arm shoulder flys, 16 in and out bicep curls, 15 tricep dips)

2x(12 each side alternating shoulder press, 15 hammer curls, 15 overhead tricep extensions)

2x(16 straight arm shoulder flys, 16 static arm bicep curls, 16 flip grip tricep kickbacks)

Abs: 10x 1 min of each exercise

Front plank

Side plank L

Side plank R

Sliding crunches

Bicycle crunches

Reverse curl

Flutter kick

Straight leg crunch

Leg raises

Regular crunch

Cool down and Stretch

3 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites, a Sprint Workout, and a Circuit Lifting Workout

  1. Thanks for trying my cookie dough ball recipe!

  2. […] here in LA. A couple nights ago I went into a no-bake dessert frenzy, and I made those cute little Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites, as well as these delicious peanut butter crisp rice bars. We’re still chugging away at that […]

  3. […] Raw Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Bites, a Sprint Workout, and a Dryland Workout (dinewithdeja.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

