Corn, Cucumber, and Avocado Quinoa Salad with Tzatziki Dressing and a Swim Workout

Today was another very long day. I didn’t even get to check my email until after 10 pm. Sigh. However, the end of my day involved dinner and dessert with three of my lovely ultimate frisbee teammates! It was a great pick-me-up after three very long days at work, and it put me in a much better mood. Great food and even better company tends to do that. 🙂 Also, I discovered that my favorite pool has extended summer hours, so I even got a swim in before work!

Today I’m sharing a recipe which I made Tuesday night after work, and it is the perfect summer meal, as it is served chilled. It has been EXTREMELY hot here in LA, especially in our apartment, and even after taking a cold shower, I still sweat until the late hours of the night. I’ve always said I prefer being hot to being cold, but I’m currently rethinking that statement. Anyway, this quinoasalad is a breeze to pull together and keeps well for several days in the fridge! The tzatziki sauce is simple and delicious, and the flavors meld together after a day in the fridge, so it’s even better after a day or two! When I was making this salad the first night, my brain was so fried from work that I forgot to add the garbanzo beans. However, it was still great as a side dish. They do provide protein, however, so I added them the next day and ate this dish as my meal. It was fantastic both ways! If you’re sensitive to raw onion taste, I suggest cooking the green onions with the corn, but if you like lots of green onion flavor, leave them raw. Sorry again for the dark pictures, but I do what I can with the lighting I have.

Corn, Cucumber, and Avocado Quinoa Salad with Tzatziki Dressing

Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

and Food.com

Ingredients

For the salad:

2 cups water

1 cup quinoa

Pinch of salt

1 tsp olive oil

2 ears sweet corn, kernels removed

3 green onions, chopped

2 avocados, diced

1 cucumber, diced

1 15oz can of garbanzo beans, drained

For the dressing:

1 cucumber, peeled and grated

½ tsp salt

½ tsp pepper

1 cups non-fat plain Greek yogurt

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp dill weed

Directions

First, make the dressing so the flavors have a chance to mingle. In a colander, sprinkle the grated zucchini with salt and pepper, toss with your fingers, then press to drain as much water as possible. Mix together the yogurt, lemon juice, olive oil, minced garlic, and dill. Add the drained cucumber and stir well to distribute the cucumber throughout the sauce. Allow to sit in the refrigerator while you make the rest of the salad.

Cook the quinoa according to package instructions. Set aside to cool.

Heat the olive oil in a saucepan and add the corn kernels. Cook for 6-10 minutes, stirring the kernels often, until the kernels are lightly browned. Cook the onions in this step too, if you wish. Remove from heat and allow to cool.

Combine the quinoa, corn, green onions, avocado, cucumber, and garbanzo beans in a large bowl. Drizzle the dressing over the top. Serve room temperature or chilled. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0821

DSCN0827

Here’s the tzatziki sauce!

DSCN0818

DSCN0824

A cool, refreshing summer salad

Now onto the swim for today! Today I decided to do a challenging threshold set, to keep up with my string of Threshold Thursday. Today I did the classic threshold set, just 10 100s on threshold interval. This is not easy. I started at one interval, then missed it and had to increase it by five seconds, and that’s ok. Just put your head down and keep going and this set is over before you know it. Here it is!

Threshold Thursday

300 free, 300 pull

6×100 @1:30 odds sprint first 15m of odd laps, evens sprint first 15m of even laps

12×75 @1:10, 4x(fast stroke/free/free, free/fast stroke/free, free/free/fast stroke) change the stroke by round, IM order

Main set:

10×100 @threshold interval

12×100 free with paddles 3x(3 fast @1:20, 1 easy @1:40)

200 easy choice

200 breathe 3-5-7-9 by 50

Total: 4700 yards

Time: 1 hr, 20 min

Leave a Reply

