Curry Tofu with Broccoli and a Swim Workout

Dream team! After the tournament this weekend, the volleyball team is undefeated. Granted, there were only three games, but it’s still cause for excitement! I mean, after working a 16 hour day, I needed something to be excited about. I was exhausted after working all week, then working all day yesterday on top of that. I was planning to sleep till noon today, but that was not to be. On the bus ride home yesterday around 10pm, I found out we had to work this morning. Sundays are supposed to be a day of rest, right? Yeah… that didn’t happen. Oh well, it’ll just be something to get used to. After leaving work this morning (I was done by 11!) I went for a swim, then came back to my apartment, only to shortly thereafter be exiled from the apartment for four hours. We had to de-flea our apartment, since the dog that’s living here got fleas. So that’s what that bite on my leg was this morning… Starting the flea foggers was kind of fun, since it’s basically a toxic chemical spray, we had to set them off them immediately get out of the house. We got everything set up, then ran around the apartment pushing the trigger on the cans in each room. The spray shoots out the top, so you have to press it down, keep your head down, and run out of the room. It was a bit like setting off a grenade. There’s even a risk of explosion! After we had set off all the foggers and run outside, we realized that we had left one of the second story windows open. Whoops. Let’s just say closing that window involved a little bit of balcony hopping and screen punching. It was quite an adventure overall. But it’s done! Yay! I was a little nervous about turning on the gas stove, even a couple hours after it was supposedly safe, but the apartment didn’t explode when I turned the knob, so that was nice. Anyway, onto the food!

After such an eventful day, I just wanted to make something quick and easy. So I threw some rice in the rice cooker and whipped up this super easy curry tofu and broccoli dish, made with canned curry sauce. I know, it seems like cheating, and it is, but it saves me a lot of time and dishes and it tastes wonderful, so who am I to complain?

DSCN0895

This lovely little jar saves a lot of time and tastes delicious!

Curry Tofu with Broccoli

Ingredients

3 green onions, chopped

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

2 small heads of broccoli, crowns and stems chopped

1/2 cup water

1 12 oz package firm tofu, cubed (you can also use silken, but it probably falls apart more easily)

3 tbsp curry sauce of your choice

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a wok and cook the onions and garlic for about 5 minutes. Add in the broccoli and saute for a couple minutes, then add the water, cover, and turn down the heat to medium-low. Allow the broccoli to steam-cook until almost all the water has been absorbed. Add the tofu and curry sauce and allow the sauce to bubble. Cook the whole mixture for a few minutes, until the tofu is heated through, then serve over rice. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0881

As usual, the lighting was gone by the time I made this meal, so cue the yellow lighting!

DSCN0884

DSCN0892

As with most Chinese dishes, this was perfect served over brown rice!

DSCN0894

DSCN0897

Look at the pretty flowers one of my friends brought over!

 Now onto today’s swim! I received an unpleasant surprise when I got to the pool. It is a short course pool, but they moved the bulkhead so that is was 25 meters instead of yards. Sigh. Also, the water was a little warm for my liking. Oh well, had to make do with what I had, so I carried on with my swim set! In high school, we didn’t practice on Sundays, but since I probably won’t get to the pool tomorrow, I did Energy System Sunday.

Energy System Sunday

200 SKIP (swim kick pull swim)

4×50 @1:00 rotating IM (fly/back, back/breast, breast/free, free/fly)

20×100, 4 rounds of 5

1) 4×100 @1:50, kick/swim by 25, 1 easy @2:00

2) 4×100 @1:45 IM, 1 easy @2:00

3) 4×100 @1:40 fast free, 1 easy @2:00

4) 4×100 @1:40 fly/free by 25, 1 easy @2:00

6×200 @3:10 pull, descend 1-3, 4-6

200 easy choice

Total: 4400 m

Time: 1 hr, 25 min

2 thoughts on “Curry Tofu with Broccoli and a Swim Workout

  1. […] at UCLA, so it’s always a treat to get to hang out with these girls! I decided to make my Curry Tofu and Broccoli and these Pan-Fried Noodles for […]

  2. […] that I do like, curry! I love yellow curry, and I usually use curry sauce from a jar, as in this Curry Tofu, but for this I decided to go with coconut milk and curry powder. Word of warning though, while […]

Leave a Reply

