Whole Wheat Butterscotch Zucchini Blondies and a Fitness Blender Workout

Two posts in one day, whattttt? I’m just so excited to be back home and baking with Shelby I couldn’t wait to post this recipe! We made three recipes tonight, a cookie recipe, this half-baked crumbly bar recipe, and this blondie recipe. I came home today and discovered that yes, our zucchini plant is STILL producing massive squash. We had one the size of a baseball bat in the fridge. Maybe we should consider harvesting these earlier… Oh well, it gives us plenty to work with when trying out new recipes! I took this Whole Wheat Dark Chocolate Zucchini Brownie recipe and modified it to be a butterscotch recipe. I took out the cocoa powder, traded the chocolate chips for butterscotch chips, and reduced the sugar by 75%. This recipe uses all whole wheat flour, only a quarter cup of brown sugar, and a cup and a half of zucchini! Healthy, healthy, healthy! Ok, maybe not healthy, but certainly much better for you than normal blondies loaded with sugar and butter. By the way, this recipe only uses oil, no butter. Did I mention healthy? One of my new goals is to create healthier recipes which don’t taste healthy, and this one definitely fits the bill. The zucchini makes these blondies extremely moist and gooey, without adding any zucchini flavor, while the butterscotch chips add enough sweetness to cut out almost all the sugar. I don’t like plain butterscotch chips, but I’ve found that they make an amazing blondie base when melted. The oil and whole wheat flour create a large, dense crumb, but the texture still has some fluff to it. Both Shelby and my sister said the texture of these blondies was more like cornbread, so perhaps a better name for this recipe would be butterscotch zucchini cake, but it was adapted from a brownie recipe so I thought they would be more like blondies or bars. The original recipe also calls for two egg whites, but I just used one whole egg. Using only egg whites would cut out more fat and make these even healthier, but would probably affect the texture, as well as leave you with two inconvenient egg yolks. Anyway, here’s the recipe I came up with!

Zucchini Butterscotch Blondies

Makes 16 squares

Ingredients

1 cup whole-wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

3/4 cup butterscotch chips

¼ cup vegetable oil

¼ cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 ½ cups shredded zucchini

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease a 9×9 pan.

Melt the butterscotch chips in the microwave or in a saucepan over low heat. Stir in the oil and sugar and set aside to cool. Mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl. Add the egg and vanilla to the butterscotch mixture and mix until smooth. Add in the dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Add the zucchini and stir to combine. Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Don’t overbake, as it will dry these out! Allow to cool before cutting into squares. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0911

I am quite pleased with myself for developing this recipe. This was my favorite of the three we made tonight!

DSCN0925

Reunited with my baking buddy!

Of course, in preparation for tonight’s baking fiesta, of course I did a workout! At home, I don’t have a gym membership or access to heavy weights of any kind, so I do a lot of bodyweight workouts. I discovered this great site, Fitness Blender, which has a ton of full length workout videos for free! They have workouts of all types, for all body parts, with and without weights, of all lengths and all intensities. I love it. I do a lot of these when I’m at home, so I chose one for today. I didn’t have too long, so I picked a short half hour workout, the When I Say Jump HIIT Workout Round 2. I like HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) workouts, since they get my heart rate up high very quickly, and I always feel tired afterwards, no matter the length. After doing one of these, I never have any doubt in my mind that I just worked out, and I enjoy that feeling. I haven’t tried Round 1 yet, but I liked this workout, so I will probably go back and try Round 1 at some point. My one pet peeve is that not all the workout videos include a warmup and cool down. This one does, but others I have to supplement with my own. They also have a couple warm up and cool down videos, which I’ve used a couple times as well. I just thought I’d share this cool site with you, so I hope you enjoy it!

3 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Butterscotch Zucchini Blondies and a Fitness Blender Workout

  1. […] like I don’t like butterscotch chips, but I love these Butterscotch Blondies and these Butterscotch Zucchini Bars. These are a fantastic, indulgent treat, so be prepared for the sugar-highs when you share them […]

  2. Generally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to
    say that this write-up very pressured me to take
    a look at and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, very great post.

  3. healthy trim says:

    There’s definately a lot to find out about this issue.
    I like all of the points you’ve made.

Leave a Reply

