Half-Baked Crumbly Bars and a Swim Workout

I slept in until 9:30 today. 9:30! Now that I’m home, my body is completely relaxed, and I guess it’s decided that it’ll let me sleep past 7. Today was a wonderful day of relaxation and doing whatever I wanted. I woke up late, went swimming with a friend, did a little shopping, and did a bit (actually, a lot) of browsing through various food blogs. What a wonderful, relaxing day. I have the second treat that Shelby and I made last night for you today, Half-Baked Crumbly Bars, from Pip and Ebby. These are supposed to be sort of a replica of Ben & Jerry’s Half-Baked ice cream flavor. They are very rich! I’m going to be honest, they are a tad on the rich side for me, and I don’t say that often. These are fudgy, chocolate-y, and wonderful, but not for those who can’t tolerate a lot of sweetness and rich foods. We did modify these slightly, using a homemade brownie rather than a boxed mix, and using a mix of semi-sweet and milk chocolate for the topping. We used a little less chocolate than the recipe called for, but I would suggest using even less, since I found the chocolate layer to be a bit too thick. We also couldn’t fit all the cookie-brownie mixture in the pan, so we made some truffles with the extra!

I especially love the Oreo crust on these bars. I don’t like Oreos plain, but I do love a good Oreo crust. It’s like I don’t like butterscotch chips, but I love these Butterscotch Blondies and these Butterscotch Zucchini Bars. These are a fantastic, indulgent treat, so be prepared for the sugar-highs when you share them with others!

Half-Baked Crumbly Bars

adapted from Pip and Ebby

Ingredients

One 8×8 pan of your favorite brownie recipe, prepared (we used about 2/5 of a pan of this recipe)

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

4 tbsp butter, softened

1 cup flour

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 tbsp fat-free milk

1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

20 Oreo cookies

6 tbsp butter, melted

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup milk chocolate kisses (I would suggest omitting)

4 tbsp fat-free milk

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

Chop up the cooked brownies into little pieces This part is a little tedious, and the lovely Shelby did this by hand while I prepared the other ingredients.

Combine the sugars, 4 tablespoons butter, flour, vanilla, and 4 tablespoons milk in a small bowl. Stir in the 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips until evenly distributed. This is the cookie dough mixture.

Pulse the Oreos in a food processor until coarsely chopped. Transfer to a bowl and stir in the 6 tablespoons of melted butter. Press into an 8×8 baking pan and bake for 10 minutes. Set aside to cool.

Combine the prepared brownies with the cookie dough mixture and spread over the top of the Oreo crust. Microwave the semi-sweet chocolate chips, milk chocolate chips, if using, and milk in the microwave for a minute at low power. Stir and return to microwave and heat at half power. until the mixture is smooth when stirred. Pour the chocolate mixture evenly over the cookie dough brownie mixture. Refrigerate until firm, then cut into squares. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0926

DSCN0922

Here’s our cookie dough-brownie truffles, made with the extra filling!

DSCN0919

We rolled half of them in hot-chocolate powder. Also, look at this cute plate I found in the cabinet!

DSCN0939

Desserts don’t get much richer than this. Look at those three lovely layers!

DSCN0941

Now for the swim for today. Today I did Quality Kick Set and Circuit Wednesday with one of my friends from my high school swim team. I’ll be honest, I hate kicking, so this is a pretty watered-down quality kick set, but hey, there’s some sprint kick in there! Maybe some day I’ll ramp up to a true quality kick set… But not today. This is also the first day I did a true circuit workout. In high school, our coach would give us three sets which took the same amount of time, and we would cycle through in three groups. Today, I made sets which took 15 minutes each. Here’s today’s workout!

Quality Kick Set and Circuit Wednesday

200 SKIP

Kick Set:

8×75 @ 10 seconds rest, 2 rounds of 4

1) 75 easy free, 50 easy free/25 sprint kick, 25 easy free/50 sprint kick, 75 sprint kick

2) 75 easy kick, 50 easy kick/25 sprint free, 25 easy kick/50 sprint free, 75 sprint free

50 easy

Circuit Sets: Each set is 15 minutes long, take 1 minute break between each set

Set 1: 5×3:00 pull for distance (swim as far as you can in 3 minutes, probably 200-250 yards, I was able to do 225)

Set 2: 9×100 @1:40, 4 IM, 1 easy free, 4 reverse IM

Set 3: 15×50 @1:00, 3x(4 sprint free, 1 easy free)

I did the pull set, then the IM set, then the sprint free set, but you can do these in whatever order you wish

200 easy choice

Total: 4300-4500 yards, depending on how far you pull

Time: 1 hr, 25 min

I also did a Fitness Blender workout later in the afternoon, and I tried out the Sweat-a-Loties 28 Minute Pilates Cardio Workout. Compared to other workouts I’ve tried on this site (I usually only go for the Level 4’s or 5’s, and this is labeled a Level 3), I didn’t really sweat that much. But it was more interesting than doing just pilates, which is too slow for me.

One thought on “Half-Baked Crumbly Bars and a Swim Workout

  1. […] I couldn’t wait to post this recipe! We made three recipes tonight, a cookie recipe, this half-baked crumbly bar recipe, and this blondie recipe. I came home today and discovered that yes, our zucchini plant is STILL […]

Leave a Reply

