Homemade Larabars

I played ultimate today for the first time since we had College Regionals in May. Oy. I’ve done a few (actually, exactly three) sprint track workouts since then. I guess you could say I’m a teensy bit out of shape for ultimate, so my body probably won’t thank me tomorrow for the games I played today. I also haven’t worn cleats since then, and I have the blisters to prove it. Oh well, I enjoyed it! Whenever I’m home and not working, I try to play in the pickup games my dad is part of, and it’s a lot of fun. There’s a little more running around and a little less structure than I’m used to, and it’s usually all older, larger men, so I have to be careful not to get trampled, but it’s a good chance to get some playing time. Well, considering we usually have no subs or breaks, a lot of playing time, and a great workout to boot!

I had a few hours before the pickup game this morning, so I made some homemade larabars! I saw these recipes on Chocolate Covered Katie, and I wanted to try them out, so I made two different kinds, the Cashew Cookie Larabars and the Hot Fudge Brownie Larabars. I’ve never used Medjool dates before, but I think I will start using them more often if I can find them at the grocery store. They’re super sweet, and make a great base to hold together these no-bake bars! I approximately halved these recipes, and I used roasted salted cashews for the cashew cookie bars, since that’s what I had on hand, and it turned out just fine. I also used double the amount of cashews called for, since my mixture was too wet and not blending evenly. With the addition of extra cashews, the whole thing came together like a charm. I also halved the recipe for the brownie larabars, which really do taste like brownies! I’m a fan. These are easy, relatively healthy desserts to make, and don’t require turning on the oven!

Cashew Cookie Larabars

Makes 6 small bars

adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie

Ingredients

1/2 cup roasted and lightly salted cashews

7 Medjool dates, pitted

1/4 cup chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet)

2 drops vanilla extract, optional

Directions

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend until the mixture is a moist, coarse meal. Put a large heaping spoonful (about 3 tablespoons) of the mixture in a plastic bag and squeeze it to bring the mixture together, then form into a bar. Repeat with the rest of the mixture. My batch made 6 bars about 3 inches long and an inch wide. Enjoy!

Print

Chocolate Brownie Larabars

from Chocolate Covered Katie

Makes about 6 bars

Ingredients

1/2 cup walnuts

7 Medjool dates, pitted

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp cocoa powder

Pinch of salt

Directions

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend until a moist, coarse, mealy mixture forms. Place a large heaping spoonful( about 3 tablespoons) in a plastic bag and squeeze to make the mixture stick together. Form into a bar shape. Repeat with the rest of the mixture. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN0950

Cashew Cookie Larabars

DSCN0951

Chocolate Brownie Larabars

DSCN0943

I was pleasantly surprised by the sweetness provided by the datesDSCN0946Such a quick and easy treat to make!

Leave a Reply

