Pumpkin Spice Muffins with Streusel Topping and a Swim Workout

The baking adventures continue! Since Shelby and I both won’t be home over Thanksgiving break, we decided we might as well make pumpkin stuff now! Clearly, that’s the only solution, as she will be in another country which doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving, and I will be working. Yes, I will be working on Thanksgiving Day. As well as the day before, and the day after. I love my job, but it does have some drawbacks, working on holidays being one of them. But that’s ok, since we made these delicious pumpkin muffins last night, it’s like Thanksgiving came early for us!

We made (and ate) an obscene amount of sugary baked goods last night, but this was my favorite of all the recipes we made. Our attempt at a healthy baked good last night was not too successful, so it will go undocumented (if no one knows about it, it didn’t happen, right?), but posts on the other two things we made, a Red Velvet Poke Cake and Pumpkin Monkey Bread, will be coming soon!

Now for these muffins. I saw these muffins on Some Kitchen Stories and they just looked so moist and delicious inside, I knew we just had to make these muffins. They were just missing one thing: streusel topping. I know the recipe has a pecan crunch included, but it just didn’t look like the crispy, crackly, crumbly sugar topping that transforms a good muffin into a great one. So I did a little searching around, and ended up at Damn Delicious, where she had a pumpkin muffin recipe with a streusel topping that looked like it would do the trick. Shelby and I really loved her Coffee Cake with Crumble Topping, so I decided to go with this streusel topping. What a wonderful decision that was. I halved the recipe for the muffins, since we were using the other part of the can of pumpkin for another pumpkin recipe, and also since if we had made 24 muffins, I probably would have eaten all of them within a day. Not good for the waistline. 12 muffins is much more manageable. We like our muffins spicy, though, so I didn’t halve the spices. Another great decision! Here’s the final recipe we made.

Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping

Adapted from Some Kitchen Stories and Damn Delicious

Ingredients

Muffins

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

1 tsp cloves

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

½ cup white sugar

¼ cup brown sugar

6 tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup canned pumpkin

Topping

¼ cup all-purpose flour

¼ cup brown sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp unsalted butter, cold and diced

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease a standard muffin pan.

To make the crumb topping, combine all topping ingredients in a small bowl and crumble together with a fork or your fingers until a large, crumb texture has been reached.

To make the muffins, in a large bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and spices. In a large bowl, beat together the sugars, butter, eggs, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Beat in the pumpkin. Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Don’t overmix or your muffins will be tough.

Fill each muffin tin about ¾ full. Sprinkle each muffin with a generous amount of crumb topping. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then transfer to a plate to cool completely. Enjoy!

Print

Shared on Strut Your Stuff Saturday at Six Sisters’ Stuff

DSCN0953

These smelled AMAZING while they were baking

DSCN0956

What a beautiful, crispy, crackly streusel topping!

DSCN0960

We picked the right muffin recipe: look how moist the insides are

DSCN0958

Spicy, pumpkin perfection!

One thing I want to say about photos on food blogs: I absolutely love it when there are pictures of the insides of desserts like breads and muffins. It’s a huge factor for me when I’m deciding on a recipe to make when I can see the inside of the finished product. I always look for a moist, dense crumb, since there’s nothing worse than a dry muffin or quickbread. The photos on Some Kitchen Stories weren’t straight-on pictures of the insides, but I could see just enough of the crumb to entice me to try the recipe! I was so happy with how moist, yet still dense, these muffins were, I’m probably never going to try another pumpkin muffin recipe. This one is the one for me!

Now onto the swim workout. After eating so many sweets last night, I was in desperate need of a tough workout. This one definitely fits the bill. Threshold is always the hardest workout for me, since no matter how in shape I am, the intervals get adjusted accordingly so it is always a challenge to make them. This is one of the sets I did in high school, except back then my threshold interval was about ten seconds faster. Sigh. How far we fall. Oh well, it was a fantastic workout, and it made me feel a little better about eating so much sugar. A little bit.

Threshold Workout

100 free, 100 back, 100 breast, x2

4×100 @1:30 free, descend 1-4

6×75 @1:20, fly/back/breast by 25

8×50 @1:00 free, 2x(sprint first 15m, sprint middle 15m, sprint last 15m, easy)

50 easy

Main Set:

5×100 free @threshold interval

2×50 fast fly @1:00

4×100 free @threshold interval

2×50 fast back @1:00

3×100 free @threshold interval

2×50 fast breast @1:00

2×100 free @threshold interval

2×50 fast free @1:00

100 free @threshold interval

200 easy choice

8×25 free @:30, no breaths (just to get a little hypoxic work in there)

Total: 4700 yards

Time: 1 hr, 20 min

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Muffins with Streusel Topping and a Swim Workout

  1. […] less than 2 cups. But never fear! You can use the rest of the can of pumpkin for this wonderful Pumpkin Spice Muffin recipe! Now, onto the […]

  2. […] so you can use that leftover cup for another pumpkin recipe! Like my Pumpkin Banana Bread, or Pumpkin Spice Muffins, or Lightened Up Pumpkin Bars. The pumpkin possibilities are […]

Leave a Reply

