Chewy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies and a Swim Workout

More pumpkin! I saw this post pop up from Sally’s Baking Addiction and I wanted to make these. I wanted chewy, not cakey, pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, and after doing a little research I discovered the pumpkin can replace egg in cookies. I checked back to Sally’s recipe, and it had no egg in it, so I decided it was going to be the one! She says the recipe makes 2 dozen cookies, but I made my cookies small, so my batch made 3 dozen. A valuable lesson I’ve learned from Shelby is that if I make the cookies smaller, I will eat the same number of cookies, but I won’t be consuming quite as horrendous an amount of sugar. Baby steps.

These cookies were adorable little balls of chewy pumpkin goodness! Mine turned out thicker than the ones in the original post, but that’s probably an illusion because mine are smaller. They were chewy and soft, just how I wanted them to be! Now, if you’re looking for a super chewy cookie, this is not the recipe for you. There’s pumpkin in this recipe, which is going to make it a little cakier than a chocolate chip cookie. But as cookies go, these are incredibly soft, which more than makes up for the slight lack of chewiness. They also smell amazing, as all pumpkin spice things do, while baking in the oven! However, they require chilling. Meh. However, I found that these cookies spread a little less than I would have liked them to, so I think with the smaller sized cookies, you may be able to omit the chilling completely. It may also help to add an extra quarter cup of flour, just to make sure they don’t turn into chocolate chip cookie pancakes in the oven. Or you can speed up the chilling time by spreading the dough out along the sides of the bowl instead of leaving it in a ball and stick it in the freezer (this is what I did). Feel free to experiment! This recipe makes a perfect amount of cookies: enough to share with friends while still having leftover for my family and myself for a few days. These would make a great fall treat, or a cute holiday dessert!

Chewy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

6 tbsp canned pumpkin

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until smooth and grainy. Add in the vanilla and pumpkin and beat to combine. In a small bowl, sift together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and spices. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir to combine. Add the chocolate chips and mix until evenly distributed throughout the batter. Cover the dough and refrigerate for at least half an hour.

Preheat the oven to 350˚F. Scoop out two teaspoonfuls of the chilled dough and roll into balls. Flatten them slightly on the cookie sheet, since they don’t spread very much, and bake for 8-10 minutes. They will still look underdone, but do not leave them in for longer than 10 minutes or they will become dry and cakey on the inside! You could allow them to cool… or just eat them warm. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1031

DSCN1034

Soft, chewy insides. The way a cookie should be!

DSCN1041By now I’m sure you know what’s coming… the swim! Today I decided I wanted to do a 200’s set. Then I took it one step further and decided, well why not make the whole workout 200’s? Here’s what I came up with.

All 200’s Swim Workout

200 free, 200 non-free, 200 pull

4×200 @3:15, increasing amount of fast strokes off odd walls, IM order

8×200 @3:20, 2x(fast/easy free alternate by 50, fast free, IM, reverse IM)

6×200 pull @3:00, descend 1-3, 4-6

200 easy choice

Total: 4400 yards

Time: 1 hr, 15 min

Later this afternoon, I also decided to go through one of my favorite Fitness Blender Workouts, the 400-Calorie Cardio Kickboxing Routine. I love this workout. It includes a warm up, although unfortunately not a cool down, but at 27 minutes long, it’s short and intense. This is what first got me interested in cardio kickboxing, and since then I’ve taken a class at a place called Studio Kicks, which was really fun, and found some other online kickboxing videos. It’s a lot more fun to do these moves, rather than just doing your average squat jumps and lunges and all that.

2 thoughts on “Chewy Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies and a Swim Workout

  1. […] used one tablespoon of this pumpkin pie spice in these wonderful cookies! I’ve made Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies before, from Sally’s Baking Addiction, but I like this recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod […]

  2. […] I personally love pumpkin and chocolate (hence my favorite pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, and more pumpkin chocolate chip cookies), but even I admit that this cake would be amazing without the […]

Leave a Reply

