Chinese Tofu Vegetable Stir Fry and a Swim Workout!

Yay finally I have a swim workout for you! I haven’t been in the pool since Friday, and I needed a good dose of chlorine. I went for a run yesterday and my legs are not thanking me for it, but swimming always makes me feel good. You know how most people get wrinkly fingers from being in the water for too long? Yeah… that doesn’t happen to me anymore. Chlorine is officially a part of the chemical composition of my cells. Whenever I don’t get in to pool for too long I start feeling not so great. My body is addicted to the water. So why did I start playing ultimate? I have no idea. I’m so uncoordinated on land, walking on flat ground without tripping is a challenge that I struggle with daily. But enough about my silly struggles, onto the food!

My first real food post in weeks! Tonight after getting home from work I whipped up a quick stir fry. I used lots of vegetables and my favorite source of protein, tofu. Stir in some flavorful Chinese sauces and serve over rice, and you have a meal! As with most “real food” dishes I make, I did not follow a recipe. I just kind of threw everything into a wok and added some sauces. I did steam-cook my broccoli and bok choy stems, since I prefer my vegetables soft. But if you like your vegetables crispy, skip the steam-cooking step. Here’s a rough recipe for what I made tonight.

Chinese Tofu Vegetable Stir Fry

Makes 5 servings

Ingredients

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic

4 green onions

2 slices fresh ginger

1/4 cup white wine

1 small head of broccoli, stems and floret chopped

1 bunch bok choy, chopped, leaves and stems seperated

1/4 cup water

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 14oz container of tofu, cubed

3 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp oyster sauce

2 tbsp hoisin sauce

1 tbsp brown sugar

Directions

In a large wok with a cover, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Stir fry the garlic and minced onions for about a minute, then add the broccoli and bok choy stems and toss to coat with oil. Add in the ginger slices, wine, and water, and stir to mix the flavors, then cover for a few minutes and allow to steam-cook. Omit this step if you like crunchy vegetables. Once the water has almost all been absorbed, add the bell pepper and cover for another minute, to slightly soften the peppers. Add the tofu, sauces, and sugar, and stir well to combine all the ingredients. Heat the whole mixture until the tofu is heated through and the bok choy leaves are wilted, a few minutes. Allow the liquid in the wok to bubble, and cook until the sauce reaches the desired consistency. If you want more sauce, add a little more water. Serve over rice. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1229

DSCN1231

So many delicious ingredients!

DSCN1236

DSCN1238

Everything tastes better when eaten with chopsticks 🙂 Ok maybe not anything, but any Asian dish at least!

Now for a swim set! Yay! Unfortunately, by the time I get off work, only the long course pool is open here, so I had to swim long course. Sigh. But I still got a decent workout! After being out of the water for a few days, I did some IM, some fast free, some pulling, basically a little bit of everything just to get all my swimming gears up and running. Here’s what I did today!

Everything Tuesday

200 free, 200 IM, 200 pull

6×100 @1:40 free descend 1-3, 4-6

Main Set: Each IM is @4:00

50 @1:00, 200 IM, 100 @1:50, 200 IM, 150 @2:40, 200 IM, 200 @3:30, 200 IM, 150 @2:40, 200 IM, 100 @1:50, 200 IM, 50 @1:00

8×100 pull, 2x(3 fast @1:40, 1 easy @2:00)

200 easy choice

Total: 4200 m

Time: 1 hr, 20 min

Leave a Reply

