Pan-Fried Noodles and a Swim Workout

Happy Friday everyone! I had a Chinese food dinner party last night with a few of my ultimate frisbee teammates. I played on the B team, Midas, my first year, and that is where I made some of my closest friends here at UCLA, so it’s always a treat to get to hang out with these girls! I decided to make my Curry Tofu and Broccoli and these Pan-Fried Noodles for dinner.

The Chinese name for this dish is 两面黄 (Liang Mian Huang), and it was one of my favorite dishes growing up. Whenever we went to a Chinese restaurant, I would request this. If you’ve ever had a Bird’s Nest at a Chinese restaurant, it’s a similar idea. Liang Mian Huang translates to something like two-faced pan fried noodles, which is basically what it is. The noodles are pan-fried until crispy on both sides, but still tender in the middle, then topped with vegetables, and often meat, in a sweet and savory sauce. When the sauce is poured over the noodles, they soak in the flavor, but remain slightly crispy. However, this is best eaten on the day it is made, since eventually the noodles will lose their crisp. I made up this recipe based on my memories of this dish, and I made the sauce based on taste-testing. It was a huge hit with my friends last night, and I loved it as well! It brought back great memories of Chinese restaurants with my family, and this dish is really not that complicated to make. I will definitely be making this again in the future.

Pan-Fried Noodles

Makes 6 servings

Ingredients

1 6oz package of thin Asian egg noodles

2 tsp olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic

4 green onions, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

1 head bok choy, stems and leaves chopped and separated

1 8oz package of shiitake mushrooms, sliced

Sauce

1/4 cup soy sauce

3 tbsp oyster sauce

2 tbsp sesame oil

1/2 tbsp brown sugar

Directions

Cook the noodles according to package directions. Drain and set aside. In a large wok, heat 1 teaspoon of olive oil over high heat and sauté the garlic and onions for a couple minutes, until the garlic is lightly browned. Add the bok choy stems and 2 tablespoons of water and reduce the heat to medium. Cover and steam-cook until the stems are slightly softened. Add more water if you wanted softer stems. Add the peppers, bok choy leaves and mushrooms and cook for a few minutes, until the mushrooms are soft and the bok choy is wilted. Remove the vegetables from the pan and add the second teaspoon of olive oil. Place the noodles in the pan and fry on one side until crispy, then flip and fry the other side until crispy, a few minutes on each side. Once crispy on both sides, remove and place on a rimmed plate or in a large, flat-bottomed bowl.

While the noodles are frying, mix the sauce ingredients. Once the noodles are done, add the vegetables back into the wok and pour the sauce over the vegetable mixture. Heat until the vegetables are reheated and the sauce is incorporated. Pour the sauce-vegetable mixture over the noodles. Serve immediately. Enjoy!

Note: I served this with another dish with tofu in it, but if you wanted to add protein to this dish, you could add extra firm tofu strips or veggie ground beef. Simply add in the protein with the mushroom, peppers, and bok choy leaves and make the rest of the dish as directed.

Print

DSCN1239

Uncooked noodles

DSCN1240

Noodles crisped to golden brown on both sides

DSCN1241

All the lovely veggies in the sauce!

DSCN1247

Ready to eat 🙂 Yay for home-cooked Chinese food!

Now for my swim workout. After eating so much delicious Chinese food last night, I wanted to go for a swim. However, I woke up and it was cloudy and gloomy outside. Sigh. I went to the pool anyway, and ended up having a great swim, although the sun still hasn’t come out. I guess it’s the weather’s way of telling us that summer is officially ending. Today I did some kicking, some pulling, some IM, and a nice sprint set. I haven’t done real sprints in a while, so I’m going to start trying to do more in order to gear up for ultimate frisbee. We’ll see how that goes… Anyway, here’s today’s set!

Everything + Sprint Swim Workout

200 SKIP

12×75 @1:20 4x rotating stroke kick/stroke swim/free), 3 of each stroke, IM order

6×150 @2:10 pull (50 fast/100 easy, 100 fast/50 easy, 150 fast, 100 easy/50 fast, 50 easy/100 fast, 150 fast)

Sprint Set: First round free, second round IM

2x(2×100 sprint @2:00, 4×50 sprint @1:15, 8×25 sprint @:40), 100 easy in between rounds

200 easy choice

300 pull breathe only between the 15m markers, hold breath in and out of turns

Total: 4600 yards

Time: 1 hr, 20 min

One thought on “Pan-Fried Noodles and a Swim Workout

  1. Mari says:

    Great post, Deja! i wish I had your commitment to exercise! After eating such a meal all I want to do is relax on the couch and vegetate!

Leave a Reply

