Chocolate Chip Scones

It’s moving day! My roommates and I are finally being allowed to move into our apartment today, and I am so excited! I mean, I’m not super excited for the physical moving part, since we have a few flights of stairs to navigate with all of our belongings, but I’m super stoked to settle into our new place. Since yesterday was my last day in the apartment I’m subletting from, I decided to have one last baking session. I don’t keep eggs on hand, but I found these scones on Smitten Kitchen, which require none at all! It was a cloudy day yesterday, so sitting back in my chair with a warm scone and a cup of tea was the perfect afternoon snack.

These scones called for heavy whipping cream, but I don’t keep that in my fridge, so I just made my own by melting some butter and mixing it in with fat-free milk. I also have a bag of whole wheat pastry flour, so I decided to substitute that for half the flour. That makes these slightly healthier, right? Right… Then, since I made it healthier with the whole wheat flour, I substituted mini chocolate chips for the currants. Well there went the health factor. But when you have a craving for chocolate, you better feed it before you end up eating the entire bag of chocolate chips plain. The result of my afternoon baking spree was heavenly. I love scones, but they often are too tough and chewy. These scones were not. They were light and tender, with a fluffy crumb and the perfect amount of sweetness. The mini chocolate chips added little bursts of chocolate in every bite, and they were just perfect. I think using partly whole wheat flour was a factor in how light and tender these scones turned out, since the formation of gluten is what makes scones tough. Gluten in flour is activated by interaction with liquids and by mechanical action, but pastry flour has a lower gluten content than all-purpose flour, so using that helped cut down on the amount of gluten formed. In any case, my substitution was a success!

Another great thing about these scones is that they can be made in one bowl! You toss the dry ingredients together, add the butter, add the chocolate chips, then pour the liquid right in. You’re also supposed to knead this a couple times on a floured surface, but let’s be real, the apartments are not known for their unlimited counter space. Also, I’m lazy, so I just did the kneading right on my baking sheet, and it turned out fine. Yay for easy cleanup! Anyway, here’s the recipe.

Chocolate Chip Scones

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Makes 12 scones

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3 tbsp sugar

5 tbsp unsalted butter, chilled and diced

1/2 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

3/4 cup fat-free milk

Directions

Preheat the oven to 450˚F.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flours, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Cut in the butter using a pastry cutter or pulse in a food processor until the mixture resembles peas. Mix in the chocolate chips.

In a measuring cup, combine the melted butter and milk, and stir to combine. This is my substitute for heavy cream, called for in the original recipe. Pour the cream into the flour mixture and stir gently until a dough begins to form. Turn out onto a floured surface and knead a few times, until the dough just comes together. Don’t overknead or your scones will be tough! Split the dough into two rounds and flatten each to 3/4 of an inch thick. Cut each round into 6 wedges, and place the wedges about 1/2 an inch apart on the baking sheet. Alternatively, you can also cut rounds about 2 1/2 inches in diameter, although this requires forming the last scraps into rounds, which will not be as pretty, but they will still taste delicious. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1267

A delicate scone with a light, fluffy interior, just as it should be! These scones make a perfect afternoon snack with a cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

