Honey Mustard Salmon and Roasted Vegetables over Quinoa and a Swim Workout

We’re moved into our apartment! I’m SO stoked to be living with my three amazing roommates, and I can’t for the fun to begin! The first thing I did when we moved all our stuff in the apartment was organize the kitchen, since I couldn’t deal with the explosion of stuff in my room. I also made this delicious meal for lunch yesterday, the first meal I cooked in our apartment! I saw a recipe in passing about quinoa salad with honey mustard vinaigrette, and I liked the honey mustard idea. Since we won’t have internet in our apartment till tomorrow, however, I made up this recipe based on taste-testing. It was the perfect meal to start off what I know is going to be a wonderful year.

DSCN1305

The best part of the apartment: our kitchen!
Happy coincidence: the apartment directly across from our kitchen belongs to three of my ultimate frisbee teammates! You can see one of them outlined in the light through the kitchen window. Yay friends!

I am mostly vegetarian, but I do eat salmon occasionally. Moving into our new apartment seemed like a special occasion so I decided to treat myself. I love roasted salmon, since when it is perfectly done, the flesh is nice and juicy and tender. I also love roasted vegetables, so I roasted some corn and peppers, and drizzled a nice honey mustard sauce over the top. Lay all that over a bed of quinoa, spinach, and avocado, and you have an easy meal that looks incredibly fancy!

Honey Mustard Salmon and Roasted Vegetables over Quinoa

Makes 5 servings

1 cup quinoa

2 cups spinach

2 green onions, chopped

2 ears sweet corn, cut off the cob

2 red bell peppers, diced

2 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper, to taste

1 avocado, diced

2/3 lb (approx.) salmon filet

2 tbsp mustard (I used Dijon)

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp dill

2 tbsp honey

Directions

Cook the quinoa according to package instructions. At the very end, add the spinach to the pot and allow to cook until wilted. Remove and allow to cool.

Preheat the oven to 400˚F.

Toss together the green onions, peppers, corn, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Bake for 15 minutes.

While the vegetables are baking, prepare the sauce. Combine the mustard, honey, olive oil, vinegar, and dill. Once the vegetables have baked for 15 minutes, remove the pan from the oven and place the salmon filet over the vegetables. Drizzle with the honey mustard sauce. Bake for another 9-10 minutes, until the salmon is cooked through. I cut my salmon into 5 equal pieces, so they cooked fairly quickly. If you keep your salmon in one large filet, it may take closer to 12 minutes, but make sure to check the salmon so it doesn’t overbake! Serve by placing down a bed of quinoa and spinach, place a few cubes of avocado and a few scoops of veggies over that, then place a cut of salmon on top. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1282

We’re off to a great start in the apartment, food-wise!

DSCN1284

DSCN1288

Perfectly tender, flaky salmon. Yum! 

DSCN1297

I made a side of toasted herbed garlic bread to go with this salmon

DSCN1298

Baked to perfection

DSCN1300Now for the swim set I did today! Today I swam 6000 yards, which is the longest swim I have done in the past couple years. It felt great! It’s hot still here in LA, even though it’s now officially fall, so the water felt wonderful. I didn’t make it to the pool yesterday because of all the unpacking and organizing we were doing in the apartment, so today I did a little bit of everything, in Energy System Monday fashion.

Energy System Monday

200 SKIP

4×75 @1:10, 50 free build, 25 sprint kick

12×50 3x(fly/free, back/free, breast/free, free/free), Round 1 @:55, Round 2 @:50, Round 3 @:45)

100 easy

8x(100 IM @ 5 sec rest, 50 fast free @ 10 sec rest)

100 easy

6 rounds of 400

1) 100 pull @1:20, 6×50 kick @1:00

2) 200 pull @2:40, 4×50 kick @1:00

3) 300 pull @4:00, 2×50 kick @1:00

4) 300 pull @4:00, 2×50 fly/free @1:00

5) 200 pull @2:40, 4×50 fly/free @1:00

6) 100 pull @1:20, 6×50 fly/free @1:00

100 easy

4×75 @1:30, odds free increasing underwater dolphin kick off each wall, evens breast increasing number of pulldowns off each wall

100 easy

Total: 6000 yards

Time: 1 hr, 50 min

Leave a Reply

