Chai Spiced Sugar Cookies and a Swim Workout

I’m doing a double day of posts today! In order to thank all the people who helped us move into our new apartment, I decided to host a dessert party. I made Flourless Chocolate Cake, these Chai Spiced Sugar Cookies, Lemon Bars, and this Moist Pumpkin Bread. The pumpkin bread was good, but I have a better recipe, which I will post soon. The favorites of the night were the flourless chocolate cake and these chai cookies. I made these cookies last winter, for a dinner gathering with my cousin and her family, and I remember them being a hit then, so I decided to make them again, with some adaptations. I recently tried a different sugar cookie recipe using oil as well as butter, and it made the cookies soft, as well as kept them moist for quite a few days after baking, so I decided to incorporate oil into these cookies. They were definitely soft and chewy, but I don’t know how moist it would have kept them, since they only lasted one day after baking. This batch made 50 cookies, and they were all gone within two days. And no, I didn’t eat all of them, I only snagged a few before they were eaten up by everyone else. These cookies are just that good.

These cookies taste like spicy snickerdoodles. I think the main ingredient adding the spiciness is a small amount of black pepper. When I first saw this ingredient, I was a bit apprehensive about it, but I decided to go ahead and use it, and I am so glad I did! These cookies are wonderful. There’s also no chilling required, and they still remain puffy and chewy! My Baking Addiction is a winner in my book for cookie recipes. Both this recipe and my favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe have come from that blog.

Chai Spiced Sugar Cookies

Adapted from My Baking Addiction

Makes about 50 small cookies

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 3/4 cups granulated sugar

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground cardamom

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp black pepper

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

In a large bowl, combine the sugar and spices. Reserve 1/4 cup of the mixture for rolling. Cream the butter together with the rest of the sugar-spice mixture until smooth. Beat in the vegetable oil, egg, and vanilla extract until light and fluffy. Add in the dry mixture and stir until combined. The dough will be thick.

With a small cookie scoop (2 teaspoons) scoop out balls of dough and roll each in the cinnamon spice mixture. Place on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 8-10 minutes. The cookies will seem underdone, but they firm up as they cool, and you want the chewy, soft center. Allow to cool for a couple minutes on the sheets, then remove and place on racks to cool. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1372

Soft, chewy interiors pair with crispy, sugared exteriors combine into one beautiful, delicious cookie

DSCN1412

Here’s the spread for the dessert party!

Now onto my swim workout for today! Now that classes are starting up, this is probably the longest swim workout I’ll get for a while. Also, unfortunately it’s probably the last time I’ll be able to swim in my favorite pool for a while, since I have class or work during the times it’s open. Oh well. I did a long threshold set today, just to get one last solid, long workout in before I go back to little half hour sprint workouts, and it is Thursday after all!

Threshold Thursday

100 free, 100 back, 100 free, 100 breast, 200 pull

8×50 free @:50 descend 1-4, 5-8

6×75 @1:20 fly/back/breast by 25

4×100 @1:30 odds sprint first 15m off odd walls, evens sprint first 15m off even walls

Main Set:

10×100 free @threshold interval

100 easy

8×100 pull @threshold interval +5

100 easy

6×100 fly/free by 25 @threshold interval +10

100 easy

6×50 pull @1:00 descend number of breaths per 50 1-3, 4-6

100 easy

Total: 5000 yards

Time: 1 hr, 25 min

Leave a Reply

