White Chocolate M&M Blondies

This is a little out of order, but this is the first dessert I made in our new apartment! We didn’t have internet, so I made up this recipe, since I had some free time and wanted to bake something. I’m so excited to have such a nice kitchen, so I want to use it as much as possible while I still have time! I predict that very, very soon I will hardly have enough time to get dinner on the table, with work, school, studying, ultimate, and other various commitments, so I’m taking advantage of free hours while I can.

These blondies are very thick, not super gooey, but dense and sugary, rather like a very thick cookie. I don’t particularly like M&Ms, because of the hard candy coating, but in these bars, the M&Ms melted and became nice and soft in the oven, and they provide a fun pop of color! The base for these is melted white chocolate, which is super sweet, so I didn’t add very much sugar, just a quarter cup brown sugar for color and chewiness. I was very pleased with how these turned out, especially since I didn’t use a recipe. My first kitchen adventure in our new apartment was a success!

White Chocolate M&M Blondies

Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup white chocolate chips

1 egg

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup milk chocolate M&Ms

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease an 8×8 (I used this size) or 9×9 pan.

In a saucepan, melt together the butter and white chocolate chips. Remove from heat and allow to cool. Beat in the sugar, egg, and vanilla until combined and smooth. Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir until just combined. Pour in the M&Ms and stir to distribute. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 15-20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool slightly before cutting into squared. Enjoy!

Print

Leave a Reply

