Lemon Luna Bars and a Swim Workout

Week 1, Monday, over. Woohoo! I really should be studying for my quiz tomorrow… But I’m not. I made these Lemon Luna Bars last week, and I just have to share them with you! I searched for a long time for a recipe for Lemon Luna bars, but all the recipes I found included coconut, which I don’t like, or peanut butter, which doesn’t work with the lemon flavor. So I made up my own! My solution to make the bars stick together was brown rice syrup, which also doesn’t have a very strong flavor, so the lemon really shines through. They really do taste like Luna bars, with that grainy protein powder sort of texture, but crispy from the crisp rice cereal. I’m not sure how healthy these actually are, since they have a lot of sugar and not as much protein as actual Luna bars, but they do taste good. Luna bars also have lots of added vitamins and preservatives, and these do not, so there are pluses and minuses of either choice. However, I’ve been eating these as a sweet treat, so these definitely qualify as a dessert or a snack!

Lemon Luna Bars

Makes 15 bars

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups crisp rice cereal

1/2 cup vanilla or unflavored protein powder

1/2 cup brown rice syrup

1/4 cup agave syrup

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

juice and zest of one lemon

1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions

In a large bowl, toss the crisp rice cereal and protein powder. In a saucepan, heat the brown rice syrup and agave over low heat until the mixture is easily pourable. Stir in the lemon juice and vanilla. Pour the liquid mixture over the cereal mixture and mix well, making sure all the cereal is coated. Press firmly into an 8×8 or 9×9 pan lined with aluminum foil or wax paper.

Melt the white chocolate chips in the microwave, then stir in the lemon zest. Spread over the bars in the pan. Refrigerate or freeze until hardened, then cut into bars. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1417

The white chocolate layer on the bottom really provides these with the finishing touch!

DSCN1422

DSCN1424

My roommate was shocked by how much they taste like Luna bars. High praise from someone who has Luna bars sitting on her food shelf!

DSCN1425

Now for the swim workout! I got back in the water today, and I have time to write it up! Unfortunately, with my class schedule, I can only swim in the long course pool most days, so long course it is. Regardless, I still got in a solid Energy System set today, so I was wide awake and refreshed for my full day of classes.

Energy System Monday

200 SKIP

4×200 @3:40, increasing number of fast strokes off each wall within the 200, IM order

2x(3×100 @2:00 fast free, 200 IM stretch out @4:00)

8×100 pull, 2x(3 fast @1:30, 1 easy @2:00)

200 easy choice

Total: 3600m

Time: 1 hr, 10 min

One thought on “Lemon Luna Bars and a Swim Workout

  1. Dom says:

    you are so awesome!

Leave a Reply

