Brown Butter Blondies and a Swim Workout

I’m alive! I know I haven’t posted in a while but… welcome to the start of the school year. With two home games for the volleyball team and shifting practice schedules, I’ve been getting home around 10pm at night every night after a full day of class and work, and it’s all I can do to eat, shower, and attempt to study before falling into bed. Work and school are an interesting mix. I will say, my time management skills are going to be superb by the end of volleyball season. But it’s Friday night, so I’m going to celebrate with a blog post! To be followed by some actual studying… but that’s for later. Since I haven’t been home and awake all week for longer than a couple hours at a time, I haven’t had time to cook. Gasp. I know. Sad life. So this recipe is actually from winter break last year, and it was something I brought back for some of my friends. I got great reviews from everyone who tried these Browned Butter Blondies from Rainy Day Gal. They’re more of cookie cups than blondies, since they’re made in mini muffin tins. Also, they’re so cute and small that eating two (or three, or five) isn’t a big deal, right? Right.

These blondies are wonderful. They’re dense, chewy, gooey, sweet, and of course, they have that signature, nutty brown butter flavor. Delicious! I love these with chocolate chips, since that’s a classic, but I also made these with toffee bits, and the original recipe calls for dried cranberries. The possibilities are endless! You get to choose what goes in them.

Brown Butter Blondies

Makes 24 mini blondies

from Rainy Day Gal

Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup add ins (I used chocolate chips)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease 24 mini muffin tins.

Brown the butter, either in a saucepan or in the microwave (just microwave on high for 3-5 minutes, depending on your microwave power). Set aside to cool.

Sift together the flour and salt. Stir the sugar, egg, and vanilla into the browned butter until combined. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir to combine. Mix in the add-ins. Spoon the batter into the muffin tins. Bake for 12-14 minutes, until lightly golden brown. Let cool a few minutes before serving. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN5370

DSCN5367

DSCN5378

Gooey, brown butter blondie goodness

DSCN5368

Swim set time! I got to go to the pool yesterday for a really long threshold set, which I will share with you, since the set I did today was pretty short. I was feeling really good in the pool yesterday, so I extended my threshold set farther than what I had planned. Here it is!

Threshold Thursday

200 free, 100 non-free, x2

4×100 @1:30 descend 1-4

6×75 @1:20 fly/back/breast by 25

8×50 @1:00 free (easy, sprint first 15m, sprint middle 15m, sprint last 15m)x2

50 easy

Threshold Set: 6 rounds of 4×100

1) 3 threshold free, sprint first lap @1:20, 1 easy @2:00

2) 3 threshold free, sprint second lap @1:20, 1 easy @2:00

3) 3 threshold free, sprint third lap @1:20, 1 easy @2:00

4) 3 threshold free, sprint last lap @1:20, 1 easy @2:00

5) 3 IM @1:30, 1 easy @2:00

6) 3 threshold free @1:20, 1 easy @2:00

200 easy choice

12×25 @:30 no breath

Total: 4800 yards

Time: 1 hr, 15 min

Leave a Reply

