Fall Pumpkin Risotto (Vegan) and a Swim Workout

Good afternoon everyone! On this fine fall day, it’s 90˚F outside. Yes, you read correctly, 90. Apparently fall in Los Angeles means it’s time for the temperatures to rise again. Weird. However, I am still insisting that it’s fall time, so I made this Fall Pumpkin Risotto. I had a little bit of canned pumpkin leftover from some pumpkin bread I made, so I decided to use it up. You can also replace with pureed sweet potato or pureed butternut squash for a sweeter flavor. Honestly, I didn’t taste it that much, it just gave the risotto a nice orange tint. In order to really get the flavor, add more pumpkin, I just used what I had left.

As I was making this risotto, I realized that if I left out the Parmesan cheese, this would be a vegan dish, and the Parmesan is unnecessary. With the Parmesan, it’s extra creamy, and still vegetarian, but for vegans, this is a great main dish. It has everything: vegetables, protein from the beans, and of course, carbs. Who can live without carbs? Certainly not me. This flavorful dish is made with seasonal fall vegetables and I used a different method of making the risotto, so it cooked in about half an hour. Usually risotto the traditional way takes about an hour, so I was quite pleased! I couldn’t taste a difference between making risotto the traditional way and this quicker method, so from now on, this is going to be how I make risotto.

Fall Pumpkin Risotto

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 onion, diced

6 oz (1 cup) Arborio rice

1 5oz package shiitake mushrooms

1 sweet potato, diced

1/4 cup white wine

3 cups vegetable stock

1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree

1 15oz can red kidney beans, drained

2 cups spinach

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese (for a non-vegan version)

Directions

In a large pot, bring the vegetable stock to a simmer. Cover and turn off the heat.

In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil and sauté the onions until transparent. Add the rice and mushrooms and toss to coat with oil. Saute until the rice is transparent. Add the white wine and stir until absorbed. Add one cup of the warm vegetable stock and stir until absorbed. Add the rest of the vegetable stock and bring to a simmer. Stir only occasionally, since the simmering will simulate stirring. Once the vegetable stock is almost all absorbed, add the beans and spinach and stir until the spinach is wilted and the vegetable stock is absorbed. Stir in the Parmesan cheese. Serve warm. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1531

DSCN1534

If you decide to add the cheese for an extra-creamy version, you can also sprinkle a little on top for garnish

Now for the last swim workout I’ll be posting for a while. Since most people only care about the food anyway, and I have less and less time on my hands to write these posts, I will leave you with one final swim. I did an Energy System set today, since I just wanted to get in the water and stretch out everything. The water also felt extra nice today, since it’s 90 degrees outside. I present to you, Energy System Sunday!

Energy System Sunday

200 free, 200 non-free, 200 pull

3×100 @1:40, descend 1-3

4x(250 IM, 4×50 free descend 1-4 @1:00, :55, :50, :45), 100m of one stroke in the IM, rotate through IM order

4×200 pull @3:10, 2x(1 neg split, 1 fast)

200 easy choice

Total: 3700 m

Time: 1 hr, 15 min

3 thoughts on “Fall Pumpkin Risotto (Vegan) and a Swim Workout

  1. Ani says:

    I love risotto and that looks so creamy and delicious!! I’ve made butternut squash risotto and I love the fall flavors it captures 🙂

  2. dinewithdeja says:

    I want to try butternut squash risotto too! I think if I make this again I’ll use butternut squash instead, since it’s sweeter, I just had that pumpkin to use up so that’s what I went with today.

  3. […] used the easy method of cooking the risotto, just like in my fall risotto recipe, which involves much less slaving over the stove than the traditional way of making it. This way, […]

Leave a Reply

