Slow Cooker Curry Lentils

I’ve never made lentils before, since they take so long to cook, and I don’t have hours to stand over the stove making sure my pot doesn’t boil over. The solution? Four hours and a slow cooker! This is my second recipe in the slow cooker, the first being Indian Butter Chicken. I was not terribly impressed with the flavor of the Indian butter chicken, but that’s more because I don’t really like tomato-based flavors with chicken. However, I loved how easy it was to make: I just threw everything in the crockpot and walked away for six hours. Which gave me time to make the five other dishes I made that day. For this lentil dish, I decided on a flavor that I do like, curry! I love yellow curry, and I usually use curry sauce from a jar, as in this Curry Tofu, but for this I decided to go with coconut milk and curry powder. Word of warning though, while delicious, the curry powder I used (from Trader Joe’s), is a bit on the spicy side for me. I don’t tolerate spicy very well at all, and this dish has a bit of a kick to it. So if you’re not a spicy person, find a curry powder that isn’t too spicy, or you could substitute a jarred sauce instead.

As with all slow cooker recipes, this one was super easy to make! I just threw everything in the slow cooker and let it cook while I went on with the rest of my day. The wonderful curry smell filled the apartment, and when I finally tasted this dish, it was delicious. The lentils and vegetables were nice and soft, and the curry flavor was just spicy enough to keep me from shoveling it into my mouth, so I got to savor the flavor. I look forward to having this for lunch for the rest of the week, and I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!

Slow Cooker Curry Lentils

Ingredients

1 cup green lentils (or color of choice)

14oz coconut milk (I used light)

3 tbsp yellow curry powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp minced garlic

2 cups vegetable stock

1/2 yellow onion, diced into 1/4-1/2 inch pieces

1 medium sweet potato, diced into 1/2 inch pieces

1/2 of a large head of cauliflower (about 2 cups), broken into florets

3 cups spinach leaves, chopped

Directions

Combine all the ingredients except the spinach leaves in the slow cooker. Stir to combine everything. Cook on high for 3-4 hours, until all the liquid has been absorbed. During the last 15 minutes, add the spinach leaves and allow them to wilt. Serve over rice. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1716

DSCN1720

DSCN1718

Dinner is served!

Leave a Reply

