Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies and Pumpkin Pie Spice

More pumpkin! I just can’t get enough during this fall season. I made these Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies for a dinner potluck and they were a huge hit! I adjusted the recipe slightly, according to my tastes and ingredients, and they turned out fantastic. They’re very soft, slightly gooey, and bursting with spicy pumpkin flavor. I used chocolate and white chocolate chips, but I think these would also be great with just chocolate chips or just white chocolate chips. The choice is yours!

Also, since I’ve been using so much pumpkin, and every recipe calls for a similar combination of spices, I just made my own pumpkin pie spice, which is as follows:

Pumpkin Pie Spice

3 tbsp cinnamon

1 1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp ginger

1 tsp cloves

1 tsp allspice

Place all ingredients in a container and shake to combine. That’s it, you’re done! Use in place of spices in recipes, I usually use about 2 teaspoons – 1 tablespoon per recipe, depending on what I’m making.

I used one tablespoon of this pumpkin pie spice in these wonderful cookies! I’ve made Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies before, from Sally’s Baking Addiction, but I like this recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod much better. They’re softer, thicker, and, best of all, don’t require chilling! I very slightly reduced the sugar, added extra spices, and reduced the pumpkin to 3/4 cup, since so many other recipes use 1 cup of pumpkin! Just in case you were wondering, one 15 oz can of pumpkin has 1 3/4 cups, so this recipe is perfect, so you can use that leftover cup for another pumpkin recipe! Like my Pumpkin Banana Bread, or Pumpkin Spice Muffins, or Lightened Up Pumpkin Bars. The pumpkin possibilities are endless!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod

Makes 6 dozen small cookies

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup pumpkin puree

2 cups total chocolate chips (I used a mixture of semi-sweet and white)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

Sift together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and spices. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until a grainy paste forms. Beat in the egg, vanilla, and pumpkin. Stir in the dry ingredients until thoroughly combined, then stir in the chocolate chips. Drop small balls (2 teaspoons each) onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 8 minutes. They will look underdone, but they deflate slightly and firm up as they cool, so don’t overbake them! Allow to cool a couple minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to racks to cool completely. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1750

DSCN1751

This is the un-rolled version, just dropped on the baking sheet. I actually prefer these, with the slightly crackly top look.

DSCN1763

These are part of the batch that I scooped then rolled, for a smoother look. These are a little more work, and in my opinion, the plain dropped ones look better. But it’s up to you!
Also, please take a moment to appreciate that beautiful gooey interior, with the melted chocolate chips just dripping out. Yum.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies and Pumpkin Pie Spice

  1. […] then feel free to leave them out. I personally love pumpkin and chocolate (hence my favorite pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, and more pumpkin chocolate chip cookies), but even I admit that this cake would be amazing without […]

Leave a Reply

