Sesame Honey Tofu

I’m alive! I know it’s been a while, but it’s midterm week! Except it was also midterm week last week, and the week before that, and it will continue to be midterm week until I get out for break in December. Sigh. Quarter system. Anyway, I have a couple go-to dishes that are quick and easy to make, particularly my Ginger Tofu, but I wanted to try something new. I love sesame taste, and I wanted to make a sort of crispy tofu, so I made up this recipe to incorporate those elements. This really doesn’t take all that long to make, except for the marinating part. I prepared the tofu and let it sit in the marinade while I went to work for a few hours, then when I came back this dish came together in less than half an hour. Easy! It also tastes delicious. The tofu has a delicately crispy exterior, with plenty of sesame soy flavor from the sauce. I will definitely be making this (or a variation) again!

Sesame Honey Tofu

Ingredients

Tofu:

1 14oz box firm tofu

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup cornstarch

1 tbsp vegetable oil

4 green onions, chopped

1 tbsp minced garlic

Sauce:

1/4 cup honey

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp rice wine vinegar

1 tbsp sesame seeds

1 tsp ginger powder

Directions

Whisk together all the ingredients for the sauce. Cut the tofu into flat squares about 1/2 inch thick with 1 inch sides. Set the tofu in a dish with the sauce and allow to marinate for at least half an hour (I let mine sit for about 4 hours). Once the tofu has marinated, dip each piece in the beaten egg, then coat with cornstarch. Keep the marinade, since this will be the sauce. Heat a saucepan over medium high heat, then heat the oil. Cook the onions and garlic until slightly browned and aromatic. Fry the tofu until crispy, a few minutes on each side. Once the tofu is done cooking, remove the tofu and place in a serving dish. Add the sauce to the saucepan and allow to cook for about a minute, then pour over the tofu. Serve over rice. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1768

DSCN1769

Lightly browned on each side and this tofu is ready to go!

DSCN1770

DSCN1772

The sauce is necessary for the flavor, but if not eaten relatively soon, it will soak into the tofu and then the tofu will no longer be crispy. It will, however, still taste delicious, so I was perfectly content having leftovers for lunch all week.

DSCN1776

DSCN1781I served my tofu with a side of bok choy.

 

Leave a Reply

