Funfetti Cake Batter Blondies

I stress-bake. I have two midterms on Monday, which means that I need sugar to fuel my brain. Obviously. So what better way to cure a sugar craving than these funfetti blondies? I took this recipe from Averie Cooks and adapted it to my own tastes. These looks a little dark to me so I switched the ratio of brown and white sugars. I also used exclusively white chocolate chips, since I don’t think chocolate fits in with the flavors of cake batter, and I added a little almond extract, which gives these bars a distinctive cake-batter flavor. Also, these Funfetti Cookies also included almond extract, and they tasted so good!

These blondies are wonderfully gooey, especially when they’re slightly underbaked, and have the distinctly sweet flavor of cake batter. The sprinkles are for fun and aesthetic appeal, and they add a bit of cheer to these bars. I’m a fan! If you like cake batter and almond extract, or if you just need a little sugar pick-me-up, these bars do the job. Here’s the recipe!

Funfetti Cake Batter Blondies

adapted from Averie Cooks

Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

1 egg

1/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp almond extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup white chocolate chips

1/4 cup funfetti sprinkles

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease a 9×9 pan.

Cream together the butter and sugars. Beat in the egg and extracts. Fold in the flour and salt until just combined, then fold in the white chocolate chips and sprinkles. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 16-20 minutes, until lightly golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Make sure to check, since it will look puffy and underbaked, but a toothpick will come out clean. These will also deflate as they cool, collapsing into dense, gooey goodness. Allow to cool before cutting into bars. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1812

DSCN1816

(Under)baked to perfection!

DSCN1817

DSCN1819

DSCN1821

DSCN1814

These delicious funfetti blondies helped offset the misery of studying for midterms. With the cheerful colors, how could they not?

One thought on “Funfetti Cake Batter Blondies

  1. thanks for trying my recipe!

Leave a Reply

