Butterscotch Pancakes

Two posts in one day! That’s right people, this is what life after finals is like. Plenty of time to sit and blog. The idea for butterscotch pancakes popped into my head last week when I was in the midst of studying for finals, so I didn’t have time to experiment in the kitchen. But last night, I had time on my hands and all the ingredients ready to go! Most importantly, I had some teammates and roommates around to help me test the results.

These pancakes are based off my usual pancake recipe, but I replaced the sugar with maple syrup, and I added a swirl of melted butterscotch chips, as well as some solid butterscotch chips to the batter. These turned out quite well, with the rich flavor of butterscotch shining through the dense pancake. Disclaimer: I like my pancakes dense, not light and fluffy like traditional pancakes. These are the way I’ve always had them, made with soymilk, rather than buttermilk, and this is how I like them. I suggest you give this kind a try, since they’re really quite delicious. Anyway, here’s the recipe!

Butterscotch Pancakes

Ingredients

Ingredients

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup ground flax meal

1/4 cup wheat germ

1/3 cup maple syrup

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 eggs

2 cups plain soymilk

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 1/2 cups butterscotch chips

Directions

Sift together all the dry ingredients. In a small bowl or measuring cup, beat together the eggs, maple syrup, soymilk, and oil. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until just combined, but still lumpy. Add more soymilk as necessary to get your batter to be easily pourable. Melt 1 cup of the butterscotch chips in the microwave, then swirl the melted chips into the batter. Add the 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips and allow them to sink into the batter.

Heat a skillet over medium-low heat. Pour 1/4 cup portions of batter on the skillet, as many as will fit comfortably. For just-cooked pancakes (these are my favorite), cook until bubbles just start to form, then flip with a spatula and cook for another 30 seconds to a minute, until the pancake is just cooked through, then remove and place on a plate to serve. If you like well-done pancakes, wait till the bubbles begin to pop before flipping, then cook for an additional 1-2 minutes before removing from the pan. Continue until all the batter is used up. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN1976

This is what the butterscotch should look like when it gets swirled into the batter

DSCN1977

Cook one side first…

DSCN1984

Then flip and repeat!

DSCN1986

Yum!

DSCN1989

Building my pancake stack…

DSCN1991

DSCN1992

Hello lovelies!

One thought on “Butterscotch Pancakes

  1. […] Butterscotch Pancakes (dinewithdeja.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

