Creamy Pasta with Swiss Chard and Leeks

Hello from Norcal! I’ve already gotten together with the lovely Shelby, and we made three types of holiday cookies today, but recipes for those will come later. For now, I would like to share with you the last meal I made in my apartment before leaving for home. I had a bunch of milk and Parmesan to use up, along with some butter, and my roommate had some heavy cream, so I knew I had to make something with a cream sauce. I thought of this recipe that my mom makes, which is pretty good. I didn’t have all the ingredients for the sauce, so I decided to just wing it and make up my own. I’m a sucker for pasta with cream sauce, but I don’t like it too thick or heavy. This sauce was perfect. It was creamy without being too rich, and had the delicious flavor of Parmesan without being too cheesy. My guess is that you could probably omit the heavy cream and just use milk, since there’s already butter in the recipe, I just wanted to use up the cream we had.

Everyone really enjoyed this dish, myself included, and this is definitely something I would make again. Maybe I’ll even make it for my family while I’m home! It was super quick and easy to pull together, a little less than half an hour from start to finish, and it’s quite tasty. Here’s my recipe!

Creamy Pasta with Swiss Chard and Leeks

Makes 8 servings

12 oz pasta of choice (I used veggie penne)

1 tsp olive oil

1 tbsp minced garlic

2 leeks, chopped (use the white and light green parts)

1 lb Swiss chard, chopped

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1 3/4 cups fat-free milk (if you use whole milk, use 2 tbsp butter instead)

2 tbsp flour

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Directions

Cook the pasta according to package directions. While the pasta is cooking, heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Toss in the garlic, leeks, and chard stems and cook until the leeks and stems are softened. Add the chard leaves and cook until the leaves are wilted.

While the vegetables are cooking melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the heavy cream, milk, and flour, and whisk until no lumps of flour remain. Heat until the mixture starts to bubble, then cook until it begins to thicken. Stir in the Parmesan cheese and whisk to combine. Add the pasta to the vegetable mixture, then pour the cream sauce over the top. Stir to combine. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and serve warm with a side of fresh bread. Enjoy!

Print

Shared on Recipe Sharing Monday over at Jam Hands

DSCN2013

Yum!

DSCN2015

DSCN2008

DSCN2009

A sprinkle of Parmesan on the top adds the perfect touch to this savory dish

2 thoughts on “Creamy Pasta with Swiss Chard and Leeks

  1. I don’t think I have ever cooked with Swiss Chard before..but this looks delicious! Thank you so much for linking this recipe up at Recipe Sharing Monday. I hope to see you back next Monday. Have a good weekend!

  2. […] off with me wanting to make a pasta with a mushroom cream sauce, similar to the sauce for my pasta with swiss chard and leeks, but then I thought, why not add a few other flavors? I started by adding mushrooms to the sauce, […]

Leave a Reply

