Molasses Sugar Cookies

Week One, complete! Ten more to go… Sigh. I think I’ll have to make another batch of these cookies soon to push me through the quarter. It’s going to be a rough one, that’s for sure. Lots of late nights at practice and early mornings at work, woohoo!

Anyway, over break I went on a bit of a gingerbread/molasses kick, and these cookies were some of the best I made! I found this recipe over at The Girl Who Ate Everything. They’re delicious. Soft, chewy, and loaded with spicy, ginger molasses flavor. Yum! I made this recipe pretty much the same as the original, with a few extra spices, but in the future I would make some little changes. I would reduce the sugar, as they were a bit sweet, and I would increase the flour, since I had to chill them in order for them to be firm enough to bake. I’ll have to try out this recipe again sometime with those changes, but the original recipe is still tasty enough to make me want to try them again. Here’s the recipe with my suggested changes.

Molasses Sugar Cookies

adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

Ingredients

2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (I suggest 2 1/2 cups)

2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp allspice

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 margarine, softened

1 cup granulated sugar (I suggest 3/4 cup)

1 egg

1 tbsp water

1/4 molasses

2 tbsp granulated sugar (for rolling)

Directions

Preheat 350˚F.  Sift together the flour, spices, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl, cream together the margarine and sugar until a smooth paste forms. Beat in the egg, water, and molasses. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet until thoroughly combined. Form walnut sized balls of dough and roll them in sugar. Place on baking sheets and flatten slightly. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until just set. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a few minutes, then remove and place on racks or a plate to cool completely. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2066

DSCN2070

Delicious, chewy, spicy cookies. Perfect for the holiday season!

DSCN2063

Leave a Reply

