Skillet S’mores

Happy Friday! I love not having class on Fridays. I get home from work and I don’t have to do anything, which gives me time to bake! It’s been pretty hot this week, but I have some eggs are are going to expire in a week, and I don’t have time to bake this next week, so here goes! I adapted these S’mores Bars from Averie Cooks into a skillet recipe! I love using my new cast-iron skillet for baking, so I’ll use it any chance I get. Or in this case, adapt recipes so I can use it. I decreased the sugar in these a bit, since the graham crackers add sweetness by themselves. I love the graham cracker taste in s’mores, so I added a little extra, and I used milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet chocolate to get a more authentic s’mores taste. These were amazing! They remained gooey in the pan, and the chocolate got nice and melty, and the marshmallows became toasted. Yum! It’s almost as good as roasting your own marshmallows around a fire. In some ways, it’s even better, since the chocolate melts completely too! Anyway, here’s my recipe!

Skillet S’mores

adapted from Averie Cooks

Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

6 graham crackers, roughly crushed

1 heaping cup mini marshmallows

1 heaping cup chopped milk chocolate (I cut up Hershey’s kisses)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and grease a 10 inch cast-iron skillet.

Beat together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg, vanilla, and salt. Stir in the flour until just combined, then fold in the graham crackers, marshmallows, and chopped chocolate. Spread in the cast-iron skillet and bake for 19-22 minutes, until the s’mores are set, and a toothpick comes out with a few moist crumbs. The marshmallows should be golden and the chocolate should be melted. Allow to cool before cutting into wedges, or go ahead and dig in with a fork! Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2330

DSCN2335

DSCN2339

Gooey chocolate, honey-sweet graham crackers, and chewy, crispy toatsed marshmallows. Yum!

DSCN2346

DSCN2348

Dig in!

DSCN2350

Leave a Reply

