Tofu Quinoa Buddha Bowl

Happy Friday! I’m super stoked to be heading to our first ultimate frisbee tournament of the season this weekend! Before I go, I want to leave you with this delicious, healthy recipe I made last weekend, and have been enjoying all week for lunches and dinners. I was inspired by this post over at Queen of Quinoa and decided to make a Buddha Bowl of my own. The idea is basically some kind of grain base, with veggies and toppings, and a sauce. I picked quinoa as my base, since I have an entire Costco bag of it sitting on my pantry shelf. I added some of my favorite roasted vegetables, added some teriyaki tofu, and topped the whole thing with fresh avocado slices. Drizzle some teriyaki sauce or sesame-ginger dressing on top and you have a meal!

I love how versatile this dish is, since you can pretty much put whatever you want on it. I just chose a few of my favorites, and some vegetables that were in season, but the choice is yours! This makes a very filling, healthy meal, and flavorful meal. Here’s my recipe!

Tofu Quinoa Buddha Bowl

Makes 6 servings

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups quinoa, uncooked

3 cups water

1 lb brussels sprouts, halved

2 sweet potatoes, halved and sliced

2 zucchini, halved and sliced

1/2 onion, sliced

1 14oz box firm tofu, cubed

Olive oil, for roasting

1/4 cup teriyaki sauce (I used Trader Joe’s Soyaki sauce)

Sesame-ginger dressing

3 avocados, sliced

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400˚F. Toss all the vegetables in the olive oil and spread on baking sheets. Bake for 20-30 minutes, until the vegetables are all fork-tender.

While the veggies roast, prepare the quinoa according to package directions and marinate the tofu in the teriyaki sauce. Once the vegetables are done, pour the tofu and teriyaki marinade into a preheated skillet and saute until the tofu is lightly browned and heated through.

To assemble the bowls, put a layer of quinoa in a bowl, then top with roasted veggies and tofu, and place half of each sliced avocado on top. Drizzle with the desired amount of dressing, or you could use more teriyaki sauce, or even just leave it plain. Enjoy!

Print

Shared on Kitchen Fun with My 3 Sons

DSCN2365

DSCN2367

This tastes delicious plain, with all the sweet and savory flavors of the roasted veggies and marinated tofu

DSCN2368

It also tastes great with some sesame-ginger dressing, or any other dressing of your choice!

Leave a Reply

