Garlic Herb Focaccia (Blitz Bread)

Carbs carbs carbs! I love carbs, which conveniently includes two of my favorite things: sugar and bread. Today, I have a wonderful bread recipe to share with you, inspired by Taste and Tell’s Blitz Bread. One of my roommates’ frisbee nicknames is Blitz, so once I saw this recipe was called blitz bread I knew I had to make it. However, I did make a few adjustments, and the result was more of a focaccia-style bread. This bread took about three hours to make, so I’m a little confused as to why it’s called blitz bread in the first place. However, I did enjoy this bread quite a bit, as did my roommates! I spiced it up a bit from the original recipe with some extra herbs and garlic powder. I also used active dry yeast, not instant, so I’m not really sure how that affects the time, but it seemed about the same. Anyway, here’s the recipe!

Garlic Herb Focaccia

Adapted from Taste and Tell

Ingredients

1-2 tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 cups warm water (100-115˚F)

1 packet (2 1/4 tsp) active dry yeast

3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

2 tsp garlic powder

1 tbsp herbs and spices (I used Italian seasoning and a zesty spice blend

Herbs for sprinkling (I used Italian seasoning)

Directions

Grease the bottom of a 9×13 pan with 1 tablespoon of olive oil.

Combine the water and yeast in the bowl of a stand mixer. Allow to sit for about five minutes.

Add the flour, salt, garlic powder, and herbs and spices and knead together with a dough hook until the dough is rolled into a ball and no longer sticks to the sides of the bowl.

Spread the dough in a rough rectangle in the pan. Cover and allow to rise in a warm place for an hour to an hour and a half. The dough should puff up.

While the dough is rising, preheat the oven to 375˚F. Once the dough has risen, pokes holes with your finger in the top, drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with herbs. Bake for 30-35 minutes, until lightly golden. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a few minutes, then turn out onto a rack to cool complete, or slice and serve warm. This bread is great fresh from the oven or toasted later. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2423

Stand mixer in action!

DSCN2425

DSCN2426

Before rising

DSCN2427

Two hours later!

DSCN2430

Fresh from the oven!

DSCN2432

DSCN2440

Yay carbs!

 

Leave a Reply

