Creamy Cauliflower Spaghetti Squash with Kale

 

Hello! I know it’s been a while, but I have a great recipe for you today! I made this dish last week, and I was pleasantly surprised at how well it came out. I’ve experimented with spaghetti squash before with some success, but this recipe is a winner. I’ve been intrigued by the idea of an alfredo-type sauce using cauliflower instead of the traditional cream, so I thought up this recipe. The cauliflower works really well as a creamy base, and with the right flavorings, it tastes just like any other creamy, cheesy pasta sauce! I added some kale to this to add some color to this dish, and the blend of flavors and textures in this dish were amazing. The sauce was wonderfully creamy and cheese, with the use of a blend of Asiago, Parmesan, and Romano cheeses, and the spaghetti squash was a great pasta replacement. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

One note, the thickness of the sauce depends on how much liquid you add. I kind of ran out of milk, so my sauce was pretty thick, but you can definitely add more milk or even water to thin it out. My thick sauce tasted like mashed potatoes, so I’m probably going to experiment with that in the future… But that’s a post for another day. Here’s today’s recipe!

Creamy Cauliflower Spaghetti Squash with Kale

Ingredients

1 spaghetti squash

1 tbsp olive oil

1 head cauliflower

1-1 1/2 cups milk (or soymilk)

1 tbsp crushed garlic

1 tbsp Italian seasoning (or herbs of your choice)

Salt and pepper, to taste

3/4 cup Parmesan cheese blend, plus more for sprinkling

1 bunch kale, chopped, stems removed

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400˚F. Cut the spaghetti squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Brush the surface of the spaghetti squash with olive oil, then place cut side down on baking sheets. Bake for 30-40 minutes, until the flesh is easily pierced with a fork. Remove from oven and allow to cool, then scrape out the flesh with a fork into strands. Steam the kale until the leaves are wilted, and mix with the spaghetti squash strands.

To make the sauce, break the cauliflower into florets and add to a pot with water. Bring to a boil and cook for about 10 minutes, until the cauliflower is tender. Drain and allow to cool, then place in a food processor and process until smooth. Place the cauliflower puree in a saucepan and stir in the garlic, herbs, salt, and pepper. Add the Parmesan cheese and stir until the cheese is melted. Add more milk at this point  if you want a thinner sauce.

Pour the sauce over the spaghetti squash noodles, and serve with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese on top. If you like, you can stir the sauce into the noodles to coat them, which is what I did with my leftovers when I packed it for lunch. It was delicious both ways. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2447

Yay food processor!

DSCN2448

So smooth and creamy!

DSCN2449

DSCN2455

DSCN2457

DSCN2459

Dinner is served!

2 thoughts on “Creamy Cauliflower Spaghetti Squash with Kale

  1. […] Creamy Cauliflower Spaghetti Squash with Kale […]

  2. […] that spaghetti squash with creamy cauliflower sauce I made a while back? Well, it was delicious. I decided to change the sauce a bit, sweetening it […]

Leave a Reply

