Lemon Crinkle Cookies

Happy Friday! The weather here has been amazing all week, with the temperature in the high 70s and 80s. Spring in LA has arrived! In order to celebrate the season, here’s a great lemon cookie recipe that I made over spring break. I took this recipe and adapted it a little bit. I had a couple of my teammates who were in the bay over break over for dessert, and they ate over two dozen of these within the first half hour of them coming out of the oven. I’d say that’s a pretty good indication that these are good. Even my sister, who generally doesn’t like lemon things other than lemon bars, thought these were tasty. But you can try it for yourself!

The adjustments I made to this recipe are pretty straighforward. I like thicker cookies so I increased the flour by half a cup. I also don’t like wasting things, so instead of using 1 teaspoon zest and 1 tablespoon lemon juice, I just used the zest and juice of one whole lemon. The extra flour helped offset the extra liquid from the lemon juice, and the extra juice made gave these cookies an extra burst of fresh lemon flavor. Win win! Here’s the recipe I made!

Lemon Crinkle Cookies

adapted from LDS Living

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 egg

Zest and juice of 1 lemon

1/4-1/2 cup powdered sugar, for rolling

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Cream together the butter and sugar until a smooth paste forms. Beat in the egg, vanilla, lemon juice, and lemon zest until pale and fluffy. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix until well combined. Scoop small balls of dough, about 2 tsp each, and roll in powdered sugar. Place on baking sheets, about 2 inches apart, and bake for 8-10 minutes, until just set. Allow to cool for a minute or so on the sheets, then remove and allow to cool completely. Or, if you’re like my friends and I, eat them while they’re still warm off the pan. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2617

DSCN2620

The powdered sugar makes them look so pretty!

DSCN2622

DSCN2623

Soft, chewy insides. Yum!

Leave a Reply

