Peppermint Chocolate Cake (Eggless) with Peppermint Icing

Who needs to study when you can eat instead? That pretty much sums up my weekend so far. Clearly I’m feeling very productive right now.

In other news, my last roommate turned 21 on Tuesday! To celebrate, I made this cake! I modified this recipe from Instructables, which happened to be vegan. Since I don’t keep eggs on hand, this seemed like the perfect recipe to whip up on short notice. I also had about half a gallon of milk that was going to expire later in the week, so I swapped out the water for milk. If you want to keep this cake vegan, then just use the water called for in the original recipe. I’m not sure how much of a difference it makes, I drink fat-free milk, so it may have made the cake slightly richer, but probably didn’t make a huge difference.

The original cake is just plain chocolate, but I love chocolate mint, and I wanted to add a little extra something to it, so I added some peppermint extract into the batter and made a refreshing peppermint icing to top the cake with. It turned out wonderfully, with a hint of mint in every bite! I’m not a huge cake person, since cakes tend to be dry and not dense enough for my taste, but recently, I’ve had pretty good luck with finding great cake recipes that I actually enjoy! This cake is dense, moist, and quite chocolate-y, and it was enjoyed by my roommates and I and several of our teammates who dropped by to celebrate (and eat cake). This is a cake that I will definitely make again in the future, with perhaps some other flavor variations. It was so easy to make, and the whole process of making it, baking it, letting it cool, and icing it, probably took just a little over an hour, so as far as cakes go, this one is super quick and easy! Here’s the recipe!

Peppermint Chocolate Cake with Peppermint Icing

adapted from Instructables

Makes 1 8×8 cake

Ingredients

Cake

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp peppermint extract

1 cup warm milk (I used fat-free, warmed in the microwave for about 50 seconds)

1 tsp distilled white vinegar

1/3 cup vegetable oil

Icing

2-2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

3-4 tbsp milk, as needed for consistency

1 tsp peppermint extract

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350˚F and line an 8×8 pan with foil. Grease the foil.

Sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, heat the milk for 40-50 seconds in the microwave, then stir in the oil, vinegar, vanilla, and peppermint extract. Beat the wet ingredients into the dry until well combined. Pour into the prepared pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Don’t overbake! The cake will be set but the top may look slightly underdone. As long as the toothpick comes out clean, it’s ready. Allow to cool for 20-30 minutes.

To prepare the icing. Stir together 2 cups powdered sugar, 3 tablespoons of milk, and the peppermint extract. If it is too thick, add more milk. If it is too thin, add more powdered sugar. Spread on top of the cake. Serve the cake room temperature or chilled. Enjoy!

Print

DSCN2750

Not gonna lie, I was extremely proud (and a little surprised) at how well I flipped this cake out of the pan

DSCN2751

Spread on that peppermint icing!

DSCN2760

Sorry for the not-great pictures, but you can kind of see how wonderfully dense the interior is here!

Leave a Reply

